Posted by: wildflowerz | February 15, 2010

I am 32 flavors and then some.

Hi kids.  It’s Jenn.  I’ve been blogging at LiveJournal for years and years now and I’ll probably keep doing that for my more irritating rants and such, but I’m feeling the need to start something new.  I’m still feeling this out, but I think this blog here will mostly consist of my continual struggle to be more healthy as well as plenty of other random things.  We’ll play it by ear and see how it goes.

So, to introduce myself:  My name is Jennifer.  I go by Jennifer or Jenn, but not Jenny thankyouverymuch.  I’m a 33 year old SaHM (mostly not by choice) in the ‘burbs of Atlanta.  Though, to be honest, Atlanta’s grown so much that saying “the ‘burbs of Atlanta” covers a LOT of ground.  I’m pretty far out, but not so far that we’re prohibitively far from civilization.  Before I became a SaHM, I worked as a cost accounting for two asphalt paving and bridge construction companies.  The second one bought out the first one (through an intermediary) and it sucked ass.  The first one, I had a lot of freedom.  I did a lot of different things in my job and was encouraged to learn more, do more, and just generally make processes easier.  The second one sucked ass.  I was stuck in a specific position that I had to share with someone else.  The job really only needed one person and I was bored out of my skull.  I hated working there and when I tried to go part time (same amount of work, less time at the office and less pay) I was shut down despite the fact that other people in the office were doing just that.  The eventually fired me because I was looking for another job.  No, really.  Should I tell you these company names?  I think I will.  What do I have to lose?  The good company was called APAC-Southeast Inc.  They were a subsidiary of Ashland Inc out of Lexington.  For a frame of reference, Ashland also owns Marathon Petroleum and Valvoline.  The second company is a private, locally owned company called CW Matthews.  If you need something paved, call someone else.  That’s probably about all I’ll say about those two companies.  I don’t keep up with many of the people I met through those jobs and I don’t really talk about them a whole lot.  Anyway, since then, I haven’t been able to find a whole lot of anything.

I have been enjoying spending time with my little girl.  She turned 6 years last month and she’s a complete girly girl.  She’s all about dressing up.  She loves board games, Wii, DS, and Rock Band.  She’s currently addicted to Harry Potter and The Wizards of Waverly Place.  As far as parenting goes, I’m probably too over-protective and I struggle to just relax sometimes.  I’m trying to teach my girl that labels don’t matter and to just be who she wants to be and do what makes her happy, but it’s very hard in this oh so conservative state we live in.  I’m very much a bright blue dot in a sea of red.

The husband is a few years older and works as a programmer at a big local to Atlanta company.  Should I mention them?  I don’t think I will.  They seem to be a very good company and there are a lot of perks for their workers.  They also demand a lot of his attention, but not nearly as much as they used to.  For the most part, he gets to work a 40 hour week, with two of those days “working from home.”  I use quotes because a lot of those days consist of him playing World of Warcraft with his work computer email called up next to him.  /rolleyes  Lately he’s had to work a bit more, but I think he’s pretty happy overall.

Now, back to me. 🙂  I’m a geek.  I’ve probably been one all along.  It took my husband and Dragon*Con to bring it out of me.  I went with the hubs to D*C over 10 years ago for the first time.  It was the last year it was during the 4th of July weekend and we had other plans, so we didn’t spend a WHOLE lot of time there, but I was hooked.  At that point, I wasn’t really into much of anything there, but I loved the atmosphere and the lack of judgement.  So, I looked through the stuff we got there and I picked something to get into and it snowballed from there.  I watch a lot of tv and this is where most of my geekdom comes in.  I also read a lot and it manifests there too, though a lot of the geek culture is very much mainstream now, so it’s harder to differentiate.  I’m not a big gamer, but I do love me some World of Warcraft.  I’ve been playing for….3 years? now?  I’m not playing quite as much as I used to, but I do have 7 level 80 characters, a couple in their 70s, and a few lowbies.  I play mostly Horde, but my first two 80s are Alliance.

For a bit of a snapshot of me, here are some of my favorites:

TV – Watching Now:  Desperate Housewives, Family Guy, How I Met Your Mother, Life Unexpected, One Tree Hill, Chuck, Heroes, The Big Bang Theory, Greek, Castle, Lost, The Biggest Loser, Friday Night Lights, The Vampire Diaries, Supernatural, Fringe, Legend of the Seeker, Leverage, Doctor Who, Torchwood, The Sarah Jane Adventrues, Being Human, V, Flash Forward, Glee, True Blood, Entourage, Weeds, Caprica

TV – Other Favorites: Battlestar Galactica (new one only), Star Trek (new favorite since the new movie came out.  I’m working my way through.  So far, I’ve seen all of TOS , TNG, and the first 2 seasons of DS9), Farscape, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Firefly, Roswell, Veronica Mars, Wonderfalls, Dollhouse, The Middleman

Movies – Star Trek (2009), V for Vendetta, any Kevin Smith but especially Clerks II, Superbad, Lost in Austen, all Harry Potter, Iron Man, Pirates of the Carribean, Being John Malkovich, Grosse Pointe Blank, The Lord of the Rings trilogy

Books/Authors: Any Jane Austen, Jane Eyre, The Lord of the Rings, River God by Wilbur Smith, Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder, any Neil Gaiman, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein, Under the Skin by Michael Faber, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro.  I read a lot of supernatural fiction, including, but not limited to vampire stuff.  I’m reading a lot of YA stuff in that vein now and I’m loving it.  I have both a Shelfari and Goodreads account.  Feel free to friend me there.  I’ve been posting my reviews on Shelfari for a few years now.  I’ve just started xposting them to Goodreads too.

Music:  Hmm, wide and varied, but I’m not a music-head like I am with tv and books.  Mostly you can find me listening to Johnny Cash, Tori Amos, Indigo Girls, Pink, Marilyn Manson, Jimmy Buffett, Dixie Chicks, Kate Voegele, McFly, Dropkick Murphys and any other random thing I find.

Yeah, well, I think this post has gotten long enough now.  I’ll post soon about this healthy thing I’m trying to get into.

Responses

  1. Welcome to wordpress! Hope you like it here 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

