Posted by: wildflowerz | February 16, 2010

Fat bottomed girls you make the rockin’ world go round.

I’m not entirely convinced of the accuracy of this Fitbit thing.  For instance, yesterday morning, I did the 4 mile/1 hour Walk Away the Pounds Super Challenge DVD.  Before I started it, I was just under 1k steps on my Fitbit.  When I finished it, I was around 9500.  Today, I did the exact same DVD.  I was a little lower on my steps before I started (around 600 steps) and now when I finished it up, I’m only at 6452.  I wore it in the same place.  The only difference is that one of the moves (kick backs) was making my back hurt yesterday, so I walked through those.  And that could be the source of some of the steps because you do twice as many steps than kick backs when you’re doing it, but kickbacks don’t make up a whole lot of the workout.  Oh well.  At least I’m moving, right?  I’ll just have to do something else today to get the rest of my steps in.

So, exercise.  Right now, I’m mostly doing the Leslie Sansone Walk Away the Pounds 4 Mile Super Challenge.  This is a more basic one in that you don’t use any kind of stretchy bands, weights, weighted belts, or anything.  I do usually add a weighted belt for a tiny bit of extra calorie burn.  I also like to do the Walk Away the Pounds Super Fat Burning 3 Mile.  This one uses weights, but I go without them about half the time.  It’s a little more annoying because they mic the extra walkers and they say stupid stuff.  I’ve got quite a few more but I don’t enjoy them as much.  Mostly because I’d rather do a 45 minute – 1 hour workout and the rest are just too short.  So, I’ve added some to my Netflix Queue to try out.

Sometimes when I’m feeling a bit lazy, I’ll just do Wii Fit.  I got the regular Wii Fit last year for Christmas.  I did it for a while, but it got boring.  Most of the games are more of the balance type.  Even a lot of the aerobic ones don’t really get your heart beating that much.  There are yoga and strength ones, but those are SO not for me.  This year, I got the new Wii Fit Plus at Christmas.  I did it for a while, but while it’s got some new stuff, it’s just like the first one in that it doesn’t burn a lot of calories or really get you moving.

So one day, I was in Target and I was picking up a few of those Leslie Sansone kits (one with the weighted belt and one with the belt with the tube band for arm exercises) and this lady stops me and asks if I have a Wii.  It was odd because usually strangers don’t talk to me in the stores.  Anyway, she tells me that her daughter got this game for Christmas called Just Dance and it really gets you moving.   When I got home, I looked it up and it sounded like fun, so I got it.  It’s pretty good, but for a game aspect, it fails.  It ranks you against your competitors (if you play with someone else) and keeps track of the all-time high score on each song, but you don’t unlock new songs and it doesn’t keep any kind of score overall.  There are only 30 songs and most of them are cheese-a-rific.

Sunday, we went to Best Buy and Target and some other places looking around and I looked for another new Wii game called Walk It Out.  It’s by the same people who did Dance Dance Revolution.  DDR is a game that could have been great if not for the horrible techno songs it has instead of real music.  Anyway, this is supposed to be a walking game where you walk through scenery and the more you walk, the more you open up in the game, etc, etc.  You can use the DDR pad (too bad mine’s for the 360), the controller and numchuck, or the Wii Fit board.  Anyway, I couldn’t find it anywhere and after witnessing Booksamillion’s (and every other regular retail book store’s) horrible prices, we knew we needed to do an Amazon order, so I ordered the game too.  We’ll see how that is when we get it.

I’m very excited to try EA Sports Active, but the price makes me pause.  The main game is $60 and there’s an xpac of more workouts for $35.  I have heard really good things about it, so I think I might make it a reward for a goal.  I’m not sure what goal yet, but there’s where I’m at.

What kind of things do y’all like to do for exercise?  Anything I should try out?

Leave a Reply

Categories

