Posted by: wildflowerz | February 17, 2010

As long as there’s water, chilly wet water, gimme some of that cool water

I don’t mind drinking water.  I do mind having to go the bathroom every 5 minutes.  I’ve gotten my requisite 8 cups of water a day most every day since I started doing this challenge the first week in January.  It has gotten better since I started, but it’s still not great.  I try my best to get it all in before lunch but it’s not always possible.  I generally have a hard time with sleep without a gazillion trips to the loo, so that’s my plan.

A friend found these water bottles at Target a while ago and so I picked up a couple to try.  I like them pretty well, but they hold 20oz of water so I end up with a small portion of a bottle left over to drink.  That’s the only tiny drawback.  I hate those squeeze bottles and I like that this one has a smaller opening that you can put your mouth around instead of a big one where the water manages to work it’s way out and all down my shirt.  No, it doesn’t happen a whole lot, but when you’re trying to drink and exercise at the same time, these are considerations.  This bottle closes firmly and if it falls over, it won’t spill.  It’s also got a little locking piece so you can make sure it doesn’t open accidentally.  I got mine in a lovely shade of green.  The extra one is a nice blue and has marks on it showing the ounces.  They also have this movable ring around the top that you can move to show which refill you’re on.

Anyway, I don’t have that hard of a time getting the water in, but I do have to remember it.  I generally have a caffeinated drink in the morning with breakfast.  I have my first bottle of water with exercise.  Then I have at least one more before lunch.  Hopefully by dinner I’ve gotten the third bottle and that remaining 4 ounces in.  Sometimes I’ll have a second caffeinated drink in the later part of the day, but usually I don’t.  I usually drink straight water with no sweeteners or flavorings.

I’m thinking maybe after this week, I’ll up my water to 10 cups.  That would put me at 4 refills of my bottle.  I’m all about order and symmetry and have been accused on more than one occasion of being anal retentive and “too organized” whatever the hell that means.

This goal I haven’t isn’t terribly hard, but it is one that I have to constantly think about so I’ll get it done.  If I weren’t drinking so much water, I’d be drinking mostly diet drinks with no calories, so it’s not changing my calorie intake really.  It might make me eat a little less, but I’m not entirely convinced of that.  Water can have many benefits to the body.  It depends on who you ask whether some of them are true or not.  Science seems to change every day and changes according to who you’re talking to, so it’s hard to get a straight answer.  However, here are some of the possible benefits I’ve found:

  • Water helps you lose weight.  It’s supposed to help you flush down the byproducts of fat breakdown, reduces appetite, and it has zero calories.
  • Water is a natural remedy for headache.  Dehydration is a common cause of headache.
  • Water will make you look younger with healthier skin.  Water helps replenish skin tissue, moisturizes skin, and increases elasticity.
  • Water makes you more productive at work.  Your brain is made up of 90% water, so drinking it helps you think better, be more alert, and concentrate.
  • Water helps you have better exercise.  Water regulates your body temperature and makes you feel more energetic.
  • Water helps in digestion and constipation.  Drinking water raises your metabolism because it helps your digestion.
  • Water gives your body less cramps and sprains.  Hydration keeps your joints and muscles lubricated.
  • Water makes you less likely to get sick and feel healthy.  Drinking plenty of water helps fight ailments like kidney stones and heart attack.  Water adds with lemon is used for ailments like respiratory disease, intestinal problems, rheumatism and arthritis etc.
  • Water relieves faitgue.  Water’s used by the body to help flush out toxins and waste products.  If your body lacks water, your body’s organs have to work harder to do their jobs.
  • Water reduces the risk of cancer.  Some studies show that drinking a healthy amount of water may reduce the risks of bladder and colon cancer.  Water dilutes the concentration of cancer-causing agents in the urine and shortens the amount of time they’re in contact with lining of the bladder.
Responses

  1. I can honestly say that I have had fewer headaches since we started this 6 weeks ago and I began making sure I was drinking a lot of water. Could be a correlation, could be coincidence. I have also been eating more fruits and veggies and that may be what is helping with the headaches.

  2. I haven’t had fewer at all. Are F&V supposed to make you have fewer headaches? I really don’t know. I’d heard lots of water help with those supposed caffeine w/drawl headaches, but I don’t think I’d heard about anything else.


Leave a Reply

Categories

