Posted by: wildflowerz | February 24, 2010

I’m so sick, infected with where I live. Let me live without this empty bliss, selfishness. I’m so sick. I’m so sick.

I have a cold.  It’s just a cold, but I feel miserable.  I have little desire to do much more than get up off the couch.  My head’s all stuffy and I had a hard time sleeping last night with a drippy, yucky nose.  So, consequently, I barely got half my steps in yesterday.  I only got 5597 yesterday and today it’s 11:30 and I’m only up to 1774!  /sigh

So what say you?  Should you exercise when you’ve got a cold?  Experts say that if the cold is above the neck with no fever, then you’re safe to exercise.  Safe, yes, but should you?  They say that you’ll feel better afterwards, but i have a hard time getting past that “Oh God, I feel like shit” feeling to get up and exercise.  I’d rather rest.

I think my decision will be to walk in place to get some steps in.  Shouldn’t be too strenuous, so maybe that will be fine.  What about you, though?  Do you exercise when you’re sick?

Responses

  1. i do not exercise when I feel poorly. Of course, I am a poor example. but I think doing exercise would just aggravate the runny nose and make your head hurt. YMMV

    • See, the problem is that when I get a cold, it tends to linger quite a while. So, if I don’t exercise when I’m sick, I probably won’t exercise any at all this week.

      I did go ahead and do 30 minutes of Walk It Out. I don’t seem to be any better or worse. /shrug


Leave a Reply

Categories

