Posted by: wildflowerz | March 5, 2010

Oh, and remember: next Friday… is Hawaiian shirt day. So, you know, if you want to, go ahead and wear a Hawaiian shirt and jeans.

It’s random Friday!  Yea!  😛

I’m all about order and organization.  EVERYone makes fun of me for this.  I don’t quite understand why.  I always have my shit together so I don’t know what’s so bad about that.  So, I’m quite the fan of the spreadsheet.  Excel is my friend.  🙂  I’ve noticed lately that I’m into a TON of series…whether it’s TV shows or book series.  First, there’s TV stuff.  So, you know how MOST shows aren’t Lost and don’t show every week?  Well, my Tivo likes to fuck with me a lot also, so I’ve found that I have to keep a spreadsheet of the tv I watch so I can make sure it does record.  I freely admit that I watch entirely too much tv.  So, I’m gonna show you.  Here’s what I watch:

  • Sunday:  Desperate Housewives, Family Guy
  • Monday:  How I Met Your Mother, One Tree Hill, Life Unexpected, Chuck, The Big Bang Theory, Greek, Castle
  • Tuesday:  Lost, The Biggest Loser
  • Thursday:  Survivor, Supernatural, Fringe, The Vampire Diaries, Flash Forward
  • Friday:  Caprica

And in addition to those, there’s Friday Night Lights (which I think is done for the season), Heroes (done for the season, maybe forever), V (starting back up next month), Glee (starting back up next month), Doctor Who (starting back up next month), Hell’s Kitchen (whenever it’s on),  Big Brother (summer), Torchwood (whenever it’s on), True Blood (when it’s on), Entourage (when it’s on), Weeds (when it’s on), Eureka (whenever it’s on),  Legend of the Seeker (in syndication, but Tivo only sometimes records it, so we watch it via Netflix/XBox) and Being Human (done for the season, I think).  AND I’m watching Leverage, Coupling, The IT Crowd, The Vicar of Dibley, and Primeval on Netflix/XBox.  And I hope to try American Gothic, Wire in the Blood, Hotel Babylon, Monarch of the Glen, As Time Goes By, Little Britain, Ballykissangel, Skins, and Robin Hood.  Oh, and I’m watching all of Star Trek.  I’ve gotten through the original series, all the movies, and The Next Generation, as well as the first two seasons of Deep Space Nine.

Then, there’s books.  These are the series I’m currently reading:

  • Women of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong – I’ve read through Personal Demon.  This series is about supernatural peoples:  Werewolves, Witches, Vampires, Ghosts, etc.
  • Black Dagger Brotherhood by JR Ward – I’m caught up until Lover Mine comes out.  This series is about a group of good vampires who work to keep the mortals from a group of skeevy bag guys called Lessers.
  • Stephanie Plum by Janet Evanovich – I’m caught up until Sizzling Sixteen comes out.  This is a silly mystery series that is TOO funny.  It’s about an amateur bounty hunter and how she bumbles through life.
  • Anita Blake by Laurell K. Hamilton – I just got Flirt at the library today.  Anita is a vampire hunter in a world where all manner of supernaturals are out in the open.
  • Southern Vampires by Charlaine Harris – I’m caught up until Dead in the Family comes out.  Vampires have come out of the closet and Sookie can read other people’s minds.  Book series that True Blood is based on.
  • The Hollows by Kim Harrison – I’ve read through The Outlaw Demon Wails.  Rachel Caine is in a future world where the supernaturals came out and there was a big rift between the two worlds.
  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – I’ve read through Voyager.  A woman falls through a portal to the past in Scotland and falls in love.
  • Lady Emily Ashton by Tasha Alexander – I just got A Fatal Waltz at the library today.  Austen-era mystery series about a woman who refuses to follow society’s rules and solves mysteries.
  • Holly Barker by Stuart Woods – I’ve read through Reckless Abandon.  Ex-military becomes police chief in a small Florida town.
  • Airhead by Meg Cabot – I’m caught up until Runaway comes out.  YA.  Teenage girl gets killed and her brain is put into the body of a model who simultaneously had some sort of brain aneurysm.
  • Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater – I’m waiting on the second book to come out.  YA.  Girl is attacked by wolves when she’s very young and bitten.  She becomes obsessed with one wolf in particular.
  • Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick – Waiting on the second book.  YA.  This ones about fallen angels on earth and all the mythos that goes with that.
  • Wake by Lisa McMann – I’ve read the first two and I’m waiting on the library to get Gone.  YA.  Girl who can go into people’s dreams uses those to fight crime.
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – I own the first two and I’ve read the first one.  YA.  Dystopian future where each community must send a contestant to a reality show where the one who survives, wins.
  • Evernight by Claudia Gray – I just got Stargazer at the library, so when I finish that one, I’ll be caught up until Hourglass comes out.  YA.  A school for vampires where they mostly learn how to deal with modern technology.
  • Generation Dead by Daniel Waters – I’m caught up until Passing Strange comes out.  YA.  Teenagers have started coming back to life after they die.  No one knows why and they’re highly discriminated against.  They don’t eat brains, but are very zombie-like.
  • Darkest Powers by Kelley Armstrong – I’ve read the first and I’ve got The Awakening on hold at the library.  YA.  A lot like the Women of the Otherworld series by the same author, but with kids at a rehabilitation home.
  • House of Night by PC and Kristin Cast – I just got Untamed and Hunted at the library today.  YA.  A vampire finishing school!  Certain kids are Marked around age 15 or so and go to a vampire finishing school to either survive the change and become a vampire (after about 4 years), or die.
  • Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine – I’ve only read the first two of these.  YA.  Vampires in a small, college town.
  • Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – I own the first one, but haven’t read it yet.  YA.
  • The Immortals by Alyson Noel – I own the first one, but haven’t read it yet.  YA.
  • Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead – I own the first one, but haven’t read it yet.  YA.
  • Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare – I’m reading the first one now.  YA.
  • The Vampire Diaries by LJ Smith – I own the first two, but haven’t read them yet.  YA.
  • Night World by LJ Smith – own the first three, but haven’t read them yet.  YA.

Yeah.  I think I have  a problem.  XD  And since I do, got any series I should try out?

Responses

  1. I LOVE how organized you are. It feels a little intimidating, but I am really so frakking jealous! I might be one of the ones that make fun of it, if I am, I swear it is meant in a nice way. My sense of humor is not always as funny as I think it is…

    And I am LOLing irl at all the series’ on your plate! Holy cow! If I can think of a book series you aren’t already reading, I’ll let you know. Then you’ll have something to fill in those extra minutes every day 🙂

  2. I think I went a little overboard at trying all those new YA series. The regular series are pretty under control. I’m caught up on most all of them until their new book comes out. And at this rate, I’ll be caught up on all those YA series too! Most of them are only a few books long so far. The really long series are the LJ Smith ones and I own the first few of those, but I haven’t started reading them yet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

