Posted by: wildflowerz | April 1, 2010

Woke up in the morning. Put on my new plastic glove. Served some re-heated salsbury steak With a little slice of love.

As most anyone with a child, I have a problem getting her to eat much of anything. She likes breakfast, pizza, chicken nuggets, macaroni and cheese, pb&j, grilled cheese, pasta cups, and tomato soup. Snacks are easier. She liked yogurt, most fruit, cheese sticks, goldfish, bagels, pudding, and jello. I try and work in some things she likes for dinners, but when I ask it’s always breakfast and soup and grilled cheese. I can’t take much more of breakfast for dinner all the time. I do have to confess that when I cook something that’s too spicy for Em, I’ll make her something else, but I try not to do it too often. However, dinner times are a constant struggle.

We’ve tried many methods. We’ve made her eat as much as we think she needs. This is the most troublesome option. There’s pouting and crying. There are stern voices and time outs. There’s stalling and extreme irritation on both sides. Lately, I’ve been making her try one bite of everything. This isn’t anywhere near as troublesome. She tries it with little to no fight and then tells me she doesn’t like it. With both ways, she eats what we have for dinner or she doesn’t get anything else. As for desserts, we’re not exactly honest. Quite a while ago, I decided that I didn’t want the promise of dessert to be what made her eat her food. I didn’t want dessert to be a reward. She Chris and I told her that we had a dessert calendar. What she ate for dinner didn’t have anything to do with whether she was having dessert. If the calendar says it’s a dessert night, she gets it. If not, then she didn’t. However, we still can’t see giving her dessert when she doesn’t eat her dinner. So, in actuality, she only gets dessert if she does a decent job at dinner and not always then. Even if she’s perfect every night at dinner, unless there’s a special occasion, she gets dessert maybe twice a week. It’s usually rainbow sherbet.

Of course vegetables are a no-go.  Every once in awhile she’ll like a vegetable, but she’s never consistent.  I’ll make it once and she likes it and the next time she hates it.  I have no idea how to get her to eat better, first of all.  The main thing, I think, is to get more vegetables in her.  I know I could put some in a blender and mix it with spaghetti or meatloaf and she wouldn’t see them.  But she doesn’t like spaghetti or meatloaf either.  I do give her a multivitamin every day, but I still feel like she needs better.

I know that she’ll eat if she’s hungry, but I’ve got to wonder why she’s not hungry.  For instance, yesterday:  She had half an onion bagel with laughing cow cheese with milk for breakfast.  Morning snack was a tube of yogurt and a small reduced sugar juice box.  Lunch was chicken nuggets and whatever else they gave them that she probably didn’t eat.  For afternoon snack, I made her a smoothie (recipe in an earlier entry).  She drank maybe 1/4 of it and decided she didn’t want more.  For dinner we have spinach chicken parmesan and chicken pasta.  She had one bite of spinach, one bite of chicken, and one bite of pasta.  And that was it.  So, yeah, I don’t know.

I’m sure all parents have this problem and I can’t help worrying (that’s my job!), but I know it’s probably just as simple as “she’ll eat when she’s hungry.”  I guess I’m doing the best I can.

Leave a Reply

Categories

