Posted by: wildflowerz | April 23, 2010

Don’t tell me not to live, just sit and putter. Life’s candy and the sun’s a ball of butter. Don’t bring around a cloud to rain on my parade.

I’m sure everyone’s heard of KFC’s newest atrocity, the KFC Double Down? It’s two pieces of fried chicken filet with two pieces of bacon, two pieces of Monterey Jack and Pepper Jack cheese, and Colonel’s Sauce (whatever that is) in between. I think it was on Chelsea Lately that I heard that it was so disgusting that people thought it was an April Fool’s Day joke. Here’s a picture for you:

From LA Times

So, last night, I was on World of Warcraft and I was talking to a friend and somehow the subject of this sandwich came up. We talked about it for a bit and I’d remembered looking up the nutrition information for Zaxby’s just a few days ago and how horrible it was, so I wondered how this Double Down (which has been massacred in the press) measured up. So, I found the nutrition information and it was, surprisingly, not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. The Double Down has 540 calories, 32g of fat, and 1380mg of sodium. For reference sake, the average adult needs between 1500 and 2400mg of sodium a day. At the time, I’d gotten Zaxby’s nutrition information from here and, according to the Zaxby’s website, that information is GROSSLY overstated. However, Zaxby’s is still pretty horrible. So, I started thinking about how some of the other restaurants measured up. I took the worst thing I saw at each place and then tried to find the healthiest. At Zaxby’s, I picked the Kickin’ Chicken Sandwich. This one is 3 fried chicken fingers on two pieces of Texas Toast with ranch dressing and buffalo sauce. I’ve had it before. It’s yummy, but it’s seriously messy. So much so that I usually didn’t get it just for that reason. I put in the Chicken Finger Plate in because that’s what I usually got when we went there. (For the record, I took out the french fries from the info for both the Kickin’ Chicken Sandwich and the Chicken Finger plate so they’d compare better with the other items.) I added in a Zalad to show that there’s nothing really at Zaxby’s that’s any good for you. In fact, that Zaxby’s salad has more calories, saturated fat, sodium, carbs, and sugar than the KFC Double Down. It’s only got 2.7g of fat less than the Double Down! I also went ahead and pulled the information for the worst and best things I could find at McDonald’s, Burger King, and Hardee’s. At Hardee’s (Does anyone even know where one of these IS anymore? All the ones I knew about are closed.) I couldn’t find anything remotely healthy. According to their website, they don’t even have salads. Here’s a layout of the nutrition information for some select items.

(I can’t get the chart to work, so I’m going to have to change this format.)

Zaxby’s Kickin’ Chicken Sandwich: Calories 835, Fat 51.1g, Saturated Fat 9.1g, Sodium 2589mg, Carbohydrates 54.3g, Fiber 4g, Sugars 9g, Protein 38g
Zaxby’s Chicken Finger Plate: Calories 684, Fat 34.4g, Saturated Fat 8g, Sodium 1879mg, Carbohydrates 38.6g, Fiber 6.4g, Sugars 10g, Protein 54g
Zaxby’s House Zalad, Grilled: Calories 612, Fat 29.3g, Saturated Fat 13.2g, Sodium 1529mg, Carbohydrates 34.8g, Fiber 4.2g, Sugars 7g, Protein 48g
KFC’s Double Down: Calories 540, Fat 32g, Saturated Fat 10g, Sodium 1380mg, Carbohydrates 11g, Fiber 1g, Sugars 1g, Protein 53g
KFC Grilled Chicken Caesar Salad w/o Croutons: Calories 200, Fat 6g, Saturated Fat 3g, Sodium 570mg, Carbohydrates 4g, Fiber 2g, Sugars 3g, Protein 33g
BK Quad Stacker: Calories 930, Fat 65g, Saturated Fat 28g, Sodium 1740mg, Carbohydrates 31g, Sugars 8g, Protein 58g
BK Tendergrill Chicken Salad: Calories 490, Fat 30g, Saturated Fat 7g, Sodium 1600mg, Carbohydrates 20g, Sugars 5g, Protein 36g
McD’s Double Quarter Pounder w/ Cheese: Calories 740, Fat 42g, Saturated Fat 19g, Sodium 1380mg, Carbohydrates 40g, Fiber 3g, Sugars 9g, Protein 48g
McD’s Premium Caesar Salad with Grilled Chicken: Calories 220, Fat 6g, Saturated Fat 3g, Sodium 890mg, Carbohydrates 12g, Fiber 12g, Sugars 5g, Protein 30g
Hardee’s Six Dollar Grilled Cheese Bacon Thickburger: Calories 1060, Fat 80g, Saturated Fat 30g, Sodium 2240mg, Carbohydrates 38g, Fiber 2g, Sugars 3g, Protein 44g

So what can we see? The only thing with a reasonably low sodium count is a salad at KFC. McDonald’s salad is a little high, but workable. The rest of them are totally unreasonable. When you’re looking at the Hardee’s Six Dollar Grilled Cheese Bacon Thickburger, McDonald’s Double Quarter Pounder with Cheese, BK Quad Stacker, or ANYthing at Zaxby’s, the KFC Double Down looks downright healthy in comparison.

If you’re going to eat out, you should start pounding the water. For most places, the healthier alternative, in regards to calories and fat, you’ll be okay. It makes me wonder how the sit down restaurants compare. Don’t most of those use a lot of precooked crap and they just microwave it? That can’t be much better for you.

It’s quite depressing stuff.

Leave a Reply

Categories

