Posted by: wildflowerz | May 3, 2010

“There is shit in the meat.”

Feeling a little empowered today.  It’s good. 🙂

I went grocery shopping this morning and I got some new things for Em.  I got these things called veggie fries.  They’re like chips, but made out of vegetables and are a bit better for you.  Not for eating all the time, of course, but nice for a change.  I was disappointed that the apples looked horrible, so I did some strawberries, grapes, and bananas.  I got some of the Horizon milk boxes.  Think juice boxes, but with milk.  I’m going to alternate those with the juice boxes.  I looked at some of the more organic juices (Adam & Eve) and it looked to me like the Mott’s with the reduced sugar were better.  The ingredients list was very simple too.

Oh, update on the school food:  I can get a refund for unused money in her MealPay plan.  It takes 2 weeks, but I can still get it back, so I don’t care about waiting so much.  So, Em won’t be eating at school any more.  The person that emailed me told me that there is a cup of apricots on the fruit plate.  When you’ve got more cookies and processed sugar on something you’re calling a fruit plate, there’s something wrong.  It’s ridiculous.

I’m finally getting around to watching Food, Inc.  It’s got the authors of both Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma.  It’s horrible.  Informative and well made, but the information it’s imparting is horrible.  Everyone should watch it.  I think it was available free online until just a few days ago, but you can still find it.  It’s on Netflix Watch Instantly.

Because most people won’t take the time to read it or even see the movie, let me just tell you, the title of this entry is describing 70% of the hamburger meat in this country.  Of course, the people that would read this are probably the people who would read the books and watch the movies, so yeah.  Here’s a factoid for you from the movie I just saw them talk about:  Corn-fed meat is riddled with e coli.  Given a diet of grass for 5 days cleans out most of the e coli.  But that’s not what’s done.  Instead, the meat, after it’s been processed, is washed with ammonia to kill the e coli.  No.  really.

Leave a Reply

Categories

