Posted by: wildflowerz | May 10, 2010

Sometimes when you’re doing simple things around the house, maybe you’ll think of me and smile. You know I’m tied to you like the buttons on your blouse. Keep me in your heart for awhile.

Biggest Loser Week 4 Results:

Weight Lost:  .8lbs (10lbs Total)
Points Earned:  69/70
Steps Walked:  122,346
Calorie Deficit:  7802

I didn’t lose as much as I’ve lost in the past weeks.  But I’m still averaging 2.5lbs/week.  My calorie deficit says I should have lost over 2lbs.  So, either I’ve missed entering food or underestimated my consumption.  The burn number’s coming directly from Fitbit.  So, while it could be wrong, it would still be consistent from week to week.  Also, I had Chinese food for dinner last night, so there could be water retention even though I tried to drink a bunch of water to counteract the sodium.  Anyway, for this week I’m going to pay closer attention to serving sizes and such and make sure I get the right calories logged into Fitbit and stay pretty much the same with everything else.

I also just finished reading this ebook I got from a friend.  It was all pretty basic stuff by laid out very well.  Most of it’s widely recognized stuff, but it was all put together very well, if a little long.  It also didn’t lie to you and tell you it’s easy.  And, let me tell you, it’s not.  The basic part of the book that’s giving me problems is that he thinks you should eat 5 small meals a day (6 if you’re male).  Then, for each meal, you’ve got to make sure you get the correct balance of protein, carbs, and fat.  See, it’d be hard enough to try and make the whole day fit into the correct percentages, but to have to make each tiny meal fit into those parameters?  Holy insanely hard task Batman!  Jeez!  My normal breakfast of the egg mug fits in reasonably well if I add a banana or something.  And I can come up with a few other meals, but unless I want to eat the same thing every single day, I’m pretty screwed.  Anyway, I’m going to look more into it, I think.  I do think it’s a good program, just very hard to work with.

I’m also reading this book I found through Wil Wheaton’s blog.  It’s called Cutting Myself in Half:  150 Pounds Lost, One Byte at a Time by Tyler LeBaron.  It might be good as a book for young adults (which it is, but I’m an adult reading it, so I don’t have the same outlook), but for an adult, I’m not quite as impressed.  The theory is that the kid made a weight loss program modeled after a video game.  In actuality, it doesn’t really work like a video game, but he uses the video game as a metaphor for his weight loss journey…if that makes any sense.  There’s nothing all that different about his weight loss program from anything else.  Nothing makes it stand out.  The way he’s describing it is unique, but at the root of it, there’s no difference.  What is outstanding is that he’s a child who researched a weight loss and fitness plan and, with the help of support people, basically did it all on his own.  He had a trainer, but he didn’t follow someone else’s plan for the food.  And he’s a kid.  I was excited when I started reading it and found that he’s actually from the Atlanta area.  So, he mentions a lot of places and areas that I’m familiar with.  That’s always fun.  The book seems to be repeating itself a LOT though.  It’s already a small book, but it could probably be cut in half and give the same information.  Still, it’s pretty amazing stuff.  And I think the tips and tricks would probably be more helpful to a teen (to whom it’s directed at) who hasn’t been around the dieting block as many times as most adults.

Leave a Reply

Categories

