Posted by: wildflowerz | May 23, 2010

Though I’m past one hundred thousand miles, I’m feeling very still. And I think my spaceship knows which way to go. Tell my wife I love her very much. She knows.

My friend says I don’t update enough.  Since she NEVER COMMENTS I wouldn’t know anyone cared!  /lol

Okay, so shopping trip:  I went to Target to get a few things for Em’s end of the year/graduation from kindergarten party.  Of course, I looked at their clothes and, as usual, they didn’t have much of anything.  CERTAINLY no shorts.  I did find a sand bucket on sale in their cheapie stuff at the front for Em.  I also looked for a kickboard for her for the pool, but all they had were either these water shooter/kickboard hybrids or these little boards with cartoon characters that she’s not into at all.  I’d decided to get her a little end of the year gift (which turned into a bigger gift later) so I went to Hallmark to get her some more Silly Bandz and a Webkinz.  I found the dog Webkinz that’s the brother of her kitty!  And it’s blue and purple and blue is her new favorite color (which she reminds me every 2.4 seconds).  I also got her 3 packs of Silly Bandz.  Then I went over to Lane Bryant.  The person asked if I was looking for anything in particular and I told her shorts.  She went on and on about how they had tons of different types of shorts.  I found 3 types.  Several colors in each type, but still….3 types.  2 of them were walking shorts, but when I tried them on, they looked funky.  I’m short, so they went just over my knee instead of just above them.  And they were way wider at the knee than they should have been so they just looked silly.  Luckily, they had some shorter shorts (about mid-thigh on me) that fit well and looked cute.

And get this:  They were 2 sizes smaller than what I’ve been wearing.  2!!!!!

(I thought that declaration needed it’s own line. 🙂  Of course, they only had one pair in my size, so I got some black ones.  However, the store was having a 40% off everything, so that made them only $17.  :-O  For that price, I decided to trek down to the mall and see if they had some more.  The mall had quite a few different types, but they also had 4 pairs of the type I just got in different colors.  I really wanted white, but I know how I spill stuff all the time, so I figured white’s not a good option.  I picked up a blue plaid and a khaki pair.  I also checked at Torrid.  Not so much with the shorts.  Oh, they had them but they were heinous.  Of course, I couldn’t resist stopping at the Disney store!  That’s where I found the idiot mom.

They had swimsuits on sale, so I picked up a blue (see, I listen to Em!) Princess and the Frog suit, a Tinkerbell tee, and a Candace (from Phineas & Ferb) tee, as well as a reusable bag.  So, I head up to get in line and Freak Show is up at the counter.  This woman LOOKS relatively normal.  She’s got 2 kids, a boy and a girl.  They look around the same age…maybe 3 or 4.  She’s got a front to back double stroller and it’s blocking the entire area in front of the registers.  Her kids keep getting up and walking about 3-4 feet to look at something and she keeps yelling at them.  Yelling loud enough that the entire store and probably the people out front can hear her.  She’s got all her shit spread out over the entire counter.  And I’m not talking just her purchases.  She’s got her purse, fast food cups, fast food bags, sippy cups, etc everywhere.  She’s telling the cashier some long, drawn out story about why she’s buying what she’s buying.  She ends getting 3 monster size bags (like 3 feet tall, 2 feet wide, and 1 foot deep).  She takes one kid out of the stroller and starts precariously putting the bags in.  The cashier still has a bunch of stuff to ring up for her and her other shit’s still all across the counter.  During this whole process she’s still yelling at her kids and she KEEPS taking telephone calls.  A line’s forming behind her and finally another cashier comes up.  The cashier has to move all this woman’s crap to the other side so she can take someone else.  She gets to me and she’s ringing me up and telling me about the Disney Rewards credit card.  I finish and, as you do, I turn to the front to leave.  Freak Show is still checking out and still has her monster, loaded down stroller blocking the way, so I end up going all around the store just to get out.  Jeez lady, get a clue!

I have to brag on myself some.  Last night we had a Girl’s Night Out.  We went to the Cheesecake Factory.  It was 4 of us and a cute, new baby girl.  I made sure to do an extra exercise that morning and made it the longer, 5 mile.  Also, I looked at the menu ahead of time and settled on a 560 cal salad.  When I got there, I actually ordered it.  🙂  I ate about 2/3 of it and ordered dessert from my pre-vetted list of cheesecakes.  I ate half of it (500ish cal) and that’s it.  How awesome am I?  That put me right on target as a normal calorie day!  Anyway, we had a good time.  We had an exhuberant waiter and we talked a bunch, mostly about babies and births.  Later we drifted outside and talked some more.  I got home around 11 and was so tired!  I’m not used to driving at night and it was a bit weird for some reason.  I’m not sure why.  I might should have gone with music rather than the How Stuff Works podcasts, but yeah. 🙂

Today we’ll probably be doing the pool, but I don’t think we have much else planned.

Leave a Reply

Categories

