Posted by: wildflowerz | May 30, 2010

Fuck you kitty you’re gonna to spend the night outside.

I’m allergic to cats.  I’m also allergic to seafood and mold.  Some type of plant pollen too, but it’s not strong enough for me to even take any meds for it.  The cat thing is the most irritating.  My eyes start itching like crazy.  My eyeballs actually swell up and won’t stop running.  Sometimes there’s sneezing too.  Now, as long as the owners of said kitties clean reasonably well, I can usually stand 4-5 hours (at least) in their house before allergies get me.  And then, it’s usually a minor eye itch.  Chris’s oldest sister has kitties and one of our sets of friends has them and this is pretty much how I fare at their houses.  I wouldn’t want to spend the night there, but even long visits are just fine.  Chris’s parents have tons of kitties and don’t clean as well so I can usually last less than 30 minutes at their house.  Not good.  Consequently, we very rarely go over there.

So imagine my surprise when I get a seriously bad reaction at the movie theatre today.  We went to lunch at Chili’s and then headed to the movies to see the newest Shrek movie.  We were there about 30 minutes when my eyes started itching like crazy.  I thought I just had an eyelash in it.  But it kept getting worse and worse.  Now, I suppose it could have been mold, but you can usually smell when there’s mold.  My best guess is that someone brought a cat and shook it over my head.  It was horrible.  By the time we left, my entire left eye had swollen up, was itching, and watering like crazy.  My right eye was better, but still pretty bad.  We went home and I took a shower, put on new clothes, and laid down in bed with my eyes closed for a while.  I feel terribly tired.  My eyes hurt.

Pet allergies are the worst.  I feel incredibly standoffish because I have to not visit people with pets as much.  It sucks that we can’t visit Chris’s parents more.  It sucks that sometimes our visits with other friends and family are cut short a lot…especially when we’ve got to drive for hours to visit those people. 😦  I’ve tried a few meds.  The only thing that seems to work is the Benedryl that makes me sleepy…so I might as well not visit in the first place.  /sigh

Leave a Reply

Categories

