Posted by: wildflowerz | June 2, 2010

Shadows are falling and I’m running out of breath, keep me in your heart for awhile. If I leave you it doesn’t mean I love you any less, keep me in your heart for awhile.

I think I need a new reading strategy for the summer.  Either I need to lay off the tomes or I need to read 2 books at the same time.  Right now, I’m reading The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon.  Normally it’s 650ish pages, but the library only had the large print version, so it’s almost 1000 pages.  Also, the material’s more dense than about half the stuff I read there.  At the pool, it’s hard to keep my mind on the book when there are kids running and yelling and I’ve got to keep an eye on my Little.  I have no problem reading 2 books at once.  I know some people can’t do it, but it doesn’t bother me.  I mean, I watch way more than 1 tv show at a time!

I want some different stuff to read too.  I ordered a few things.  I ordered The Curse of Chalion by Bujold, Ringworld by Larry Niven, Touch of Dark by Karen Chance, and Thus Spake Zarathustra by Friedrich Nietzsche.  I also found a few things at the library to put on hold:  The Tomb by Paul F. Wilson, Sunshine by Robin McKinley, and The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan C Bradley.  I’m also itching to read some more of Diana Gabaldon’s series.  I read the first 3 or so, but those are immense.  I wanted a break, so it’s been a while.  I’m ready to read some more now.  I’ve been on such a YA kick lately, it’s good to get back to books written for adults!  You might laugh when you see how I found some of my reading materials…I went to GoodReads and looked at my GoodReads “friend” Felicia Day and looked at some of the stuff she gave 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

Categories

