Posted by: wildflowerz | July 1, 2010

Cause you know it’s over before it began. Keep your drink, just give me the money. It’s just you and your hand tonight.

/huge, heavy sigh

So, I’m fat.  This is no secret.  There are many things that go along with that.  One thing, I’m quite certain, is my inability to tolerate heat very well.  I feel like I’ve gotten better in that regard, but I’m, by no means, even a significant amount better.  So, mostly I just try to stay out of the heat except where I can cool myself off…like at the pool.

I also don’t have a job.  So, during the school year, I’m here for Em.  I help her with her work, take her places she needs to go, and make sure she has everything she needs for school.  I take things to school for her and attend parent things at her school.  I also do any house cleaning, laundry, cooking, and cleaning up from cooking.  Before, Chris and I had a deal.  I hated cleaning up from cooking, but didn’t mind cooking.  So, I cooked and he cleaned up.  Well, since I’ve got no job, I took on almost all of the cleaning up.  Every once in a while, I’ll ask him to do it, but it’s pretty rare.  Other than that, about the only thing that’s his “job” at home is taking out the trash, which he forgets or won’t do about 90% of the time, so I end up doing that too.

Then, there’s yard work.  We both hate yard work.  About half of my distaste for it is the heat.  In years past, I’ve always tried to mow the lawn the first time of the year and have gotten half way through before I felt like I was going to pass out and I couldn’t finish.  Chris did it the rest of the year.  This year, I was able to do it 3-4 times before it got too hot and I couldn’t do it anymore.  For some reason, Chris seems to think that the fact that I have a problem mowing the lawn doesn’t correlate with having a problem doing the weedeating, edging, etc.  He thinks that if he mows the lawn, then I should be able to do all the rest of the stuff, despite me telling him that it makes me physically sick.  I don’t know if he doesn’t care or what.  However, because of his acting this way, when I mow the lawn, I expect him to do all the other things.  Except that he won’t.  Until I bug and bug him.  And then he comes up with bullshit reasons for why he didn’t do it all.

Now, I fully know that I have a problem with letting other people do things because I don’t think they do them the “right way” (read:  MY way).  But here’s what happened the one time he went out to weed eat, etc.  Obviously, weeds/tall grass grow right up against the house where you can’t mow.  And they also occur around the mailbox post.  So, Chris takes the weedeater and wacks those down.  But we also have this green, groundcover bush stuff in two places and weeds grow up in it.  We’ve found out that the weedkiller stuff that’s safe to spray on the grass is not safe to spray on the bushes.  The weeds are so intertwined with the bushes, that it’s not feasible to pull them and spraying them would kill the bushes around them.  The easiest way to get rid of them is just to take the weedeater to them and mow them down.  (Did I mention that we hate yard work and know nothing about it?)  So, anyway, the one time he’s done the weed stuff this summer, he comes in and he’s not gotten those weeds that occur in the ground cover plants.  He says he didn’t know he was supposed to get those too?  Are you fucking kidding me?  He’s like a 6 year old!

We also have 2 trees in our front yard.  Each of them have a circle of mulch around them.  Grass invariably grows up through the mulch, but when you mow, you can just run the mower over it and it cuts it down.  Easy peasy.  But Chris won’t do that either.

So, yesterday, we get a letter from our pain in the ass HOA.  We get these letters ALL the time.  The complaint is always extremely vague and we usually have no idea what the hell they’re talking about.  So, every time, we call the number provided.  Every time, no one answers, so we leave a message.  And they never call us back.  Yesterday, it said that we had weeds in the flower beds that we had to get rid of.  It was pretty self explanatory.  All we really had was some small grass growing up around the trees in the front and at the very back of one of those ground cover bush places at the very back of the house that you can’t see well from the street, we had some tall weeds growing up…the very ones Chris “didn’t know he was supposed to cut down.”  So, I leave it out for Chris since I can’t do yardwork without feeling like I’m going to pass out.  When he sees it he immediately picks up his cell phone to call them.  I ask what he’s doing and tell him it’s obvious what they’re talking about this time.  He asks what weeds and I tell him.  He pauses a beat and says, “So you’re going to take care of that then?”

/sigh  Dude.  Were you not listening the first 20 million times I told you that when it’s too hot, I can’t deal??  I tell him that again and he’s totally silent and doesn’t mention it again the rest of the night.

I know him.  He’s not going to do it.  So, instead of exercise, I go out to do it.  Our weedeater, edger, and hedge trimmers are all electric.  Which means dragging those stupid cords around everywhere, which is a giant pain in the ass.  I get it all cut and get inside.  I’m extremely exhausted and feel like I’m going to pass out.  I still feel bad and my hands won’t stop shaking even now, 45 minutes after I’ve finished outside and taken a shower.  I feel like ass and I’m fucking pissed.

I did get one scare that turned into a happy surprise though.  I was getting the weeds against the house at the back when I got to one point and saw something odd and it scared the crap outta me ’cause I wasn’t expecting it.  Turns out, it was a good sized turtle!  I made Em put on some shoes to come out and see it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

