Posted by: wildflowerz | July 12, 2010

Skeleton you are my friend, but you are made of bone and you have got no flesh and blood running through you to help protect the bone.

Being Healthy Week 13 Results:

Weight gain: 2.2lbs (16.8lbs Lost Total)
Points Earned: 48/70
Steps Walked: 34,174
Calorie Deficit: 3656

/wave  I’m actually not upset about this gain.  I’ve got several reasons for it.  Number 1:  I started my period today and I feel like ass.  Number 2:  I forgot to weigh when I got up, so this number was after I’d had breakfast, water to drink, and a shower.  And Number 3, the biggest contributing factor:  I just got back from a vacation where I couldn’t control the menu a lot of the time and when I could, I didn’t really care.

This vacation didn’t work out anywhere near as well as I’d liked it to.  I tried to stick to the plan as well as I could, but I kinda failed at that.  Let me sum up some:

Drinks:  I started out okay with this.  But they live in south Georgia and while their water isn’t horrible, it’s not great either.  Toward the end of the week, I was drinking it with Crystal Light and that took away the yuck factor.  I drank entirely too much soda.  I also wasn’t going to drink, but I succumbed to peer pressure.  I had a Captain and Diet Coke the second night and a strawberry margarita the last night.  Still, not terrible with the alcohol.

Exercise/Steps:  Exercise?  What’s that?  I did none.  Absolutely none.  And my steps were pitiful.  I barely got 2 days worth for the 17k/day.  To be fair, I spent quite a bit of time in my bathing suit where I couldn’t wear the Fitbit.  However, I still didn’t do any exercise, so there’s no way I had that many more steps.

Sweets:  The kids made cupcakes.  SIL made cookies and had a cheesecake.  I ate them all, but I didn’t do terribly with those.

Food:  Obviously, this was the biggest downfall.  Here’s how that went:
Wednesday:  Breakfast was the usual egg mug.  Lunch at McDonald’s.  I had a grilled chicken caesar salad.  The dressing was high cal, but not too bad.  Dinner they cooked hotdogs on the grill, so I had 1 with a teeny bit of mac & cheese and a teeny bit of baked beans.  This day, I did the best I could.

Thursday:  Breakfast was a biscuit, bacon, and eggs.  I didn’t have a lot of it.  Lunch was sandwiches by the pool, so I was still good.  Dinner was spaghetti with meatballs (which was REALLY yum), salad, and garlic bread.  This was the Captain and Diet Coke day too.  Still, overall, it’s not too bad.

Friday:  This day was cinnamon rolls for breakfast with no even semi-healthy options.  Lunch was Larry’s Giant Subs at the water park and I had turkey and ham, but regular bbq chips.  At dinner, I had a bunch of spinach and artichoke dip with chips and 1 piece of pizza.  Mostly I didn’t eat more pizza ’cause it messes up my belly.

Saturday:  Bread extravaganza for breakfast:  biscuit, waffle, cinnamon roll.  Lunch was at a yummy restaurant on the beach and I had a steak wrap with fries.  Dinner was Mexican and I had a super salty chicken burrito with a bit of rice.  I had a piece of cheesecake that night.

Sunday:  Scrambled eggs, hash browns, and pancakes for breakfast and then we were on the road.  McDonald’s for lunch.  I’d done so badly, I just had chicken nuggets and fries.  They didn’t taste very good.  Dinner we had rotisserie chicken from Publix and rolls.

So, I could have done worse, but I could have done way better too.  But it’s done and the choices were mine, so there ya go.  Back on track today.  Well, I’m trying.  I woke up determined to exercise, but I’m crampy and the period’s started.  I think I’ll skip formal exercise today and do Walk It Out later.  We’re going shopping, so I should get some steps in that way.  Tomorrow it’s back to exercise though.  And I’m back on track with food.

Oh, the Biggest Loser Challenge.  By my calculations, her scale should have shown me as being down 20-21lbs, but it only showed 18.  I don’t think I’m going to win, but everyone else is weighing in today.  It’s good that I weighed before we left, though!

Responses

  1. I’m glad you are not beating yourself up too much – I think you actually did REALLY well and aren’t giving yourself enough props. The point of all of this is to live healthier, and on vacation you are perfectly entitled/justified/allowed/whatever to be a bit more “liberal” with stuff like alcohol and noms. And what’s REALLY great is that you DIDN’T care for the McD’s and are getting right back on the wagon. For me, that always feels like turning a corner – when some of the less than healthy stuff feels ick instead of tempting. 🙂 Personally, I am proud of you! 🙂

    • Mostly, I do think I did the best I could. I knew I wouldn’t get any exercise in. It’s just too hot down there and there’s no place private for me to do exercise videos. I didn’t plan on totally not doing sweets or totally not doing caffeine. I did plan on not doing alcohol, but I’m not upset that I didn’t do that one and I think I did decently with it. For food, I did mostly do the best I could with the exception of Saturday and Sunday lunch. Especially Sunday…I just said “fuck it” and got what I used to get there. I’m not a big salad person at all, so it’s irritating me when most places I go, the only healthy(er) option is salad. I don’t mind it here and there, but every time is not for me. And I’m not upset about the gain. I am pretty happy that I opted to weigh in BEFORE vacation for the challenge though! Speaking of that, they should be doing their weigh in right now, so hopefully I’ll have the results by tomorrow morning. /fingers crossed


Leave a Reply

Categories

