Posted by: wildflowerz | August 12, 2010

Complete: Walk It Out

Calories Burned:  42,080 (12.02lbs)

Steps Taken:  1,134, 494

Distance Walked:  303.7 miles

Play Time:  71 hours, 58 minutes

Product Description: Get off the couch and get moving to the beat of over a hundred hot songs! Step to the beat of hot hits like the Black Eyed Peas’s “Boom Boom Pow” and Demi Lovato’s “La La Land” and explore a unique in-game world you create with each step you take! It’s a fun and easy way for the whole family to get their hearts pumping! Experience a revolutionary and unique workout where walking to the beat of great music unlocks an exciting in-game world. Keep movin’ to the beat of all your favorite in-game tracks as you extend your workout in bonus minigames. Compatible with the Wii Balance Board and the Wii DanceDanceRevolution Controller, Walk It Out will have you groovin’ your way to a healthier you! Uniquely motivational, explore an in-game world where the more you step, the richer your world becomes. Discover new places and goodies every day! The only fitness-focused game that keeps you in the game with great music! Move to the beat of 120 songs, including 20 favorite licensed tracks, including masters performed by the original artists! Hits include: Boom Boom Pow by the Black Eyed Peas, How Do You Sleep? by Jesse McCartney, La La Land by Demi Lovato, and more! Get a visual feel for how well you’re doing through charts and graphs that show burned calories, distance traveled, steps taken and more! Play with the peripheral of your choice! Accepts input from the DanceDanceRevolution Wii Controller, Wii Remote and Nunchuk, or Wii Balance Board.

Jenn’s Review/Thoughts:  I finally finished!  /cheer  Okay, so above you’ve got the official product description from Amazon.  Here’s my version of game play:  You start out making your own avatar.  You can change very few things about it, clothes color and hair color being the main ones.  You never see your avatar’s face while you’re walking.  You can play this with another person or on your own.  I played most of it by myself.  Your avatar walks around an island to the beat of the music.  If you hit the beat correctly, you’ll gain a coin.  You use the coins to unlock capsules on the island.  Most of the capsules are the scenery:  cars, buildings, fire hydrants, benches, flower beds, LOTS of trees, windmills, bridges, etc.  The size of the object determines how many coins the item costs.  You can also use coins to unlock a few other things:  different routes to walk, clock times, songs (120 of them in the game), and constellations in the sky.  There are also 7 rainbow capsules to click on that don’t cost any coins and when you get all the colors of the rainbow, a giant rainbow will appear.

That’s the basic game play.  Now for a few points:

  1. Music: Yes, there’s a song by Demi Lovato, Jesse McCartney, the Black Eyed Peas, Ne-Yo, Fergie, Missy Elliot, Katy Perry, Soulja Boy, and The Pussycat Dolls.  There are also 6 covers of popular songs.  Other than those 15 songs, they’re all “Konami Originals.”  These are songs you’ve never heard (maybe in DDR).  Most of them are Japanese or English, but written/sung by Japanese people who don’t know English very well, so a lot of the lyrics make no sense.  One song in particular is all in Japanese (so I’ve no idea what they’re saying), except when they shout out “Jack Russell Terrier!”  Umm, yeah.  Despite that, most of the songs aren’t too bad to walk through.  Some of them seemed too slow to me, but you can switch those songs off in the control menu.  A complete song list can be found here.
  2. Capsule Availability:  I’m a very organized person.  I like to go about things in the most efficient manner.  However, I also fail to read the instructions a lot of times, especially when a game seems so incredibly straight-forward as this one.  So, I missed the fact that the availability of capsules changed depending on the time of day.  Going through the game, I thought that more capsules were becoming available as I unlocked a bigger quantity of the scenery capsules.  I didn’t realize until I’d unlocked all of those that there were different based on time of day.  However, it didn’t take too long to finish it up and get the ones I’d missed because I never changed the clock and I don’t walk at 2am.  If I’d known that all along, I would have been finished last week!  Also, the rainbow capsules change too.
  3. Controller:  You can use the DDR mat (our DDR is for the xBox, so we couldn’t), the Wii Fit Board, or the controller with the numchuck attachment.  With the later, you put the numchuck in your pocket.  I found this didn’t work well at all.  When my 6yo was playing, the numchuck wouldn’t fit in her pocket.  We found that wearing pants with a belt loop and winding the cord around the loop several times worked better.  However, the Wii Board worked the best for me.  It says you’re not supposed to actually pick your feet up when you’re walking on it, but I think they just don’t want you to fall off.  I had no problem with using it and actually walking.

I enjoyed the game.  There’s not a lot to it, but for the organized, lover of spreadsheets type of person that I am, it was perfect.  I’ve always been a completist, so I had to finish this!  I only found a few things I considered to be real flaws:

  1. Today when I was finishing up all the capsules, I had 6/7 rainbow pieces.  I went through the entire clock trying to find that last piece.  It wasn’t there.  Probably just a glitch because I’ve finished the rainbow a few times before, but it was annoying on my last go at it.
  2. If you have to pause for an extended amount of time and the Wii board goes off, when you turn it back on, you’ll get the warning every 5-10 steps not to pick up your feet from the board.  Usually you only get this once in the beginning.  I don’t like to waste coins, so this was especially irritating once I’d unlocked entire sections.  I had to walk a while to get somewhere that I could spend my coins, log out, and log back on to fix the board.

So, done with Walk It Out.  I’ve got EA Sports Active coming in the mail.  I hope I love it as much as this one!  I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

Categories

