Posted by: wildflowerz | August 25, 2010

Prophet 60091: This is the flag number of our galactic son. Prophet 60091: We’ve always thought that you should know that you’re not the only one who can hurt me.

I had to give a verbal smackdown to this little twit at the bus stop this morning.  Okay, maybe it was more of a verbal tap.  I restrained myself.  He is in elementary school after all.  PLEASE don’t let Em grow up to be obnoxious!  It actually wasn’t that big of a deal, but this kid’s obnoxious-ness has annoyed me for 3 weeks now, so I finally said something.  And you guys know me:  I’m NOT big on the confrontation, even with an annoying kid.  So, all year, usually Em and I are first to the bus stop.  Almost every single day, this obnoxious kid’s parents drop him off at the bus stop and he cuts in front of Em.  Em either is intimidated ’cause he’s a big kid (which I don’t think is the deal ’cause she’s tried to play with this kid at the pool before and he’s typically obnoxious and ignores her) or she just doesn’t care and she doesn’t say anything.  Other kids come and they all get in line behind everyone else…except for this kid’s friends.  They all cut in front of everyone else too.  We’re not talking about really big burly kids either.  It’s one skinny 2nd grade girl, another really skinny 3rd or 4th grade girl and a boy who’s probably in 3rd or 4th.  It’s not an intimidation thing.  I think most kids just don’t really care so much.  Or they’re too polite to say anything.  Anyway, this kid is also REALLY rude to this other just annoying kid.  The annoying kid is the younger brother of that terribly annoying girl that just graduated.  He IS very annoying, but this kid’s beyond rude to him.  Anyway, so this morning, Em and I get there.  The other annoying kid gets there and gets behind Em.  Then, the obnoxious kid comes up and cuts right in front of Em and starts poking at this beetle on the ground and yelling at anyone who gets close to it.  /rolleyes  Other kids come and get in line like normal, polite kids.  His friends come and get in line with him, cutting in front of everyone else like normal.  Either the annoying kid or another girl from the neighborhood comes up to look at the beetle and obnoxious kid starts telling her she can’t cut in line.

Seriously?

So yeah.  I had to say something.  And really, it wasn’t that bad, but I was really annoyed.  I just asked him if he was really going to fuss at someone else for cutting when he cuts in front of Em almost EVERY single day.  Twit just stares at me like a moron.  This kid is the son of a teacher.  She was at the pool a LOT this summer.  All I can say is that I’m ecstatic that the mom’s not a teacher at Em’s school.  She’s seriously annoying.  The boy was there some this summer too and would have some kind of cool toy.  Em would ask him over and over again if she could see it.  He wouldn’t just tell her no…he’d ignore her.  And bless her, she doesn’t know when someone doesn’t wanna play with her.

Do I have to say it again?  I don’t want to parent other people’s kids.  I like my kid.  She’s my responsibility.  Not anyone else.  /sigh

We went to the pool yesterday after school and I was talking to this other mom from the neighborhood and evidently there was a ton of vandalism at our pool last week.  I’ve mentioned we have 2 pools.  The bigger one was effected.  Somehow, they drained about a foot of water out of the pool.  They smashed the safety lights in the pool so there was glass all in it and they had to drain the pool to clean it out.  Then, they shit in the pool.  Yup.  Their feces was all in the pool.  Ew.  She said they thought it was some kid that lives near the front of the neighborhood.  /shrug

I went to Em’s school last night for curriculum night.  Em was assessed at a 2.3 reading level.  That’s supposed to mean she’s reading like a 2nd grader in the first 3 months of school.  Her teacher then said that she thought that all the kids were probably a lot farther along than they tested.  Anyway, right now, she’s supposed to be taking tests from 2.3 to 3.3 level, but the teacher recommends dropping it a full level to ensure success.  /shrug  They’ve got a big incentive deal on books.  They earn beads for a necklace for taking and passing tests on the books.  I’m going through all her books today and label them all with their level and test number.

I made a mistake yesterday.  I went to Trader Joe’s to get Em snacks for lunches and stuff.  They had this little box of tiny vanilla bean cupcakes.  I bought them.  I fully intended to nom the entire box.  I didn’t, so that’s a plus.  I did eat 6 of them though.  They were SERIOUSLY good.  Chris had some.  Em ate one last night and I put one in her lunch today.  There’s one left.  Last night when I went to bed to read, I could taste that heavy, sugary sweetness in my mouth.

This is turning into another extremely random post, so I’ll take this opportunity to talk about one of my favorite podcasts.  Okay, I don’t listen to a whole lot of podcasts, but I really like this one.  I’ve been listening to a ton of Stuff You Should Know.  It’s from HowStuffWorks.com.  They’re on tons of different topics.  Right now, I’m listening to How Pirates Work.  Before that, it was How Christmas Works.  It’s also stuff like Will the Large Hadron Collider Destroy the Earth?, How Muppets Work, Is Flouride Making Us Stupid?, and How Agent Orange Works.  How Stuff Works has a ton of other podcasts too:  Brain Stuff, The Coolest Stuff on the Planet, Stuff Your Mom Never Told You, Stuff From the B-Side, The Stuff of Genius, Stuff They Don’t Want You to Know, Tech Stuff, and Stuff You Missed in History Class.  I’m downloading the rest of them now.  It’ll take me ages to listen to all these, but I’m learning little tidbits of info.  🙂  Anyway, if you’re not into podcasts, check them out.  They’re free.  I like Nerdist (Chris Hardwick, host of Web Soup and comedian) too.  He gets a little repetitive with some of the stuff he says, but he’s got good guests a lot of times.  I used to listen to Wil Wheaton’s Radio Free Burrito, but he’s not done a new one in ages.  I haven’t found anything else that’s all that interesting.  If anyone’s got anything, feel free to link me and I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

