Posted by: wildflowerz | October 22, 2010

The day being clear, the sky being bright, he came up on the left like a streak of light, like a drunken fuck on a Saturday night, up came the Bottle of Smoke.

/waves  Miss me?  No, probably not.  😛  I haven’t had a lot to say.  My foot still hurts.  That sounds stupid, but c’est vrai.  It doesn’t hurt a whole lot and none when I’m not standing on it.  But the more I walk, the more it hurts.  And it sucks so badly because I was really liking the walking outside in the morning.  I’ve noticed that the tops of my feet are sore too.  But that’s an all the time thing and I think is just moving muscles I don’t normally use when I was just doing my walking to exercise videos inside.  I could get through that.  And I could even do inside exercising through that, but with this thing with my left foot  (hi there Daniel Day Lewis) makes me not be able to do that.  SUCKS.

Next Friday’s Em’s Cattle Drive.  No, I still haven’t figured out what the deal is with that, but we’ll be there to cheer her as she does whatever it is that she’s doing with that.  They’re also having a Halloween party at school.  It also happens to be my copy mom day, so we’ll see how that works.  ALSO, it’s Red Ribbon week next week so they’ve gotta wear certain things each day.  And?  If that wasn’t enough, Em’s Star Student next week.  So she’s got to do something each day for that one.  Next week’s gonna be a pain in the ass trying to remember what we need to do each day.

Em’s got a soccer game on Saturday, as usual.  Chris’s parents said they were going to come to this game back at the beginning of the season.  They haven’t mentioned it and I haven’t either.  It’ll be interesting to see if they show up.  I haven’t told Em.  If I do and they don’t come, she’ll be very disappointed.  We’ve had to learn who in our lives we can tell her ahead of time about and who we need to hold off on and let it be a surprise if it happens.  /sigh

Our house is seriously in need of vacuuming.  I’m gonna have to do it, foot be damned.  If people come over, I can’t let it look like this.  Fortunately, I did some cleaning on Monday and Tuesday, so most of downstairs is in good shape, it’s just the vacuuming that needs to be done.

I hate giving up on books.  I really do.  Especially ones that I thought were going to be great.  I just tried to read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz.  It’s supposed to be about this Dominican nerd boy who wants to be the next Tolkein.  I read the first 85 or so pages.  It started out about Oscar and was a bit hard to follow, but interesting.  Then, it moved on to talking just about the sister from her POV.  That was okay too, but not what I was hoping for.  It spend a little time on the sister before moving back in the past to focus on the mom’s POV.  That’s where they lost me.  There was a LOT of Spanish language phrases and words stuck in there and I don’t speak Spanish.  They didn’t bother to translate most of it, even though there were TONS of rambling footnotes.  It started out being about Oscar, mostly about the combo of the DR background and the nerdboy aspect…which was interesting to me.  Then turned to mostly the DR stuff about the sister and mom which I could care less about.  So, yeah.  I’ve gotten better about not wasting my time on something I’m not into, but I still feel bad when I give up on a book.  I should just get over it, huh?

Leave a Reply

Categories

