Posted by: wildflowerz | December 26, 2010

Happy Birthday to me…

Today’s my birthday.

I hate my birthday.

It always sucks ass.  The first one I remember is back in Kindergarten.  My mom invited my entire class.  We had a smaller house, so she rented out a big room at the local bank.  ONE kid from my class came.  Through the years, my mom always insisted on taking down the Christmas decorations the very day after Christmas, so I never even got to be lazy and loaf around on that day.  When I turned 16, my mom decided I needed a surprise party.  I went with a friend of the family (who really liked me way more than as a friend and at that time I didn’t like him like that AT ALL) took me to see a movie.  We were supposed to go out to eat too, but I was so sick I really just wanted to go home.  He kept stalling and finally took me home.  My dad came to pick me up, saying we were going to go out to eat, but we were meeting my mom at the church to pick her up.  When we got there, everyone jumped out and yelled surprise.  I had a surprise party at a church.  For my 16th birthday.  The gifts were all supposed to be gag gifts, so it was where people got to laugh and make fun of me.  I didn’t appreciate that at 16.  At all.  And I was sick.

As I’ve grown up, it’s not gotten a whole lot better.  Shopping the day after Christmas is almost as bad as shopping the day after Thanksgiving, so that’s out.  No one wants to go do anything the day after Christmas either, so I’m almost always just with family.  My parents come down on Christmas Eve now and stay until my birthday.  Sometimes that’s okay, but mostly it makes me want to clean house.  They brought their dog this year and already my couch is filthy with smears of dog treat that the little shit has taken up on our couch to eat.  This year it’s all snowing and shit outside, so I’m not even sure if we’ll be able to leave. or if my parents will be here another night.

Right now, I’m up so damn early because at 3:30am this morning I woke up and it sounded like I was in a wind tunnel.  Chris has that breathing machine thing to help him not snore.  On the whole, it works pretty well.  However, quite a few times, he takes it off at some point and snores anyway.  Recently, he got a new type of mask.  He’s had a problem finding one that works okay and that feel comfortable enough to sleep in.  Evidently this new one isn’t it either, because when I woke up, he had on the old one and it was SO FUCKING LOUD.  I ended up coming downstairs to sleep on the couch in the living room.  My mom sleeps in the play room when she brings the dog because it’s a pain in the ass.  My dad’s in the guest room.  So, there are no free beds.  The sofa wasn’t comfortable and hard to get to sleep on, so I didn’t sleep well.  Then at 6:30am or so, my mom and then Em came downstairs and started turning on lights and making noise, so I couldn’t sleep anyway.  My nose is stuffed up, I’m REALLY tired, and after so much family togetherness, I’d like to hide out somewhere and sleep or just be alone, but that’s not going to happen.

I fucking hate my birthday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

