Posted by: wildflowerz | December 28, 2010

I’m thinking baby, you and I are undeniable. But I’m finding out love’s unreliable. I’m giving all I got just to make you stay. Or am I just a roadblock in your way?

I think I’m ready to start not being a sloth any more.  I just feel…ick.  Yesterday I threw out a TON of leftover Buckeyes and Oreo Truffles.  It hurt me to throw away so much good food, but no one else would want it ’cause they’ve got their own leftovers and we sure don’t need it.  I’ve got almost half a birthday cake left that I’m going to trash some time today too.  I also had a few pieces of cheesecake left that I might have one more of before I throw away.  In addition to that, I’ve still got quite a few chocolate chip cookies that I should also trash.  And then there’s still a few things from my Christmas Stocking candy.  Gah.

I haven’t done an official weigh in ’cause I can’t remember to do it right when I wake up, but I think I’ve gained almost 5lbs back.  It’s not wonderful and it’s more than the few pounds I said I’d be content with, but it’s not that insane for Christmas, so I’m not going to stress about that too much.

One of my friends on FB posted a link to SparkPeople yesterday and I’d been meaning to check that out.  So, I joined up over there.  If you’re on there and know how to friend someone, I’m Wildflowerz.  I’m not quite sure what’s going on with it yet…there’s a LOT of links and a lot of stuff going on, so it’s a bit confusing, but I hope to get into that soon.  Without looking much at it, I’ve got some basic stuff I want to start doing again right away:

  1. Water:  I’ve had almost no straight water since before Thanksgiving.  Unacceptable.  I’m going to aim for 3 of my water bottles (equals about 8 cups) a day.
  2. Caffeine:  I’ve been practically binging on Diet Mtn Dew.  So, to start, I want to cut that back to just one a day.
  3. Vitamin:  I’ve been hit and miss with this one.  I went on a streak where I forgot it quite a bit.  So I want to get back to doing this one every day.
  4. Exercise:  I’m going to start out with a goal of doing some formal exercise 3x a week.  I’m not going to put a time limit on it, but in my mind, I’m hoping for at least 30 minutes a day.  It might be walking outside.  I got a new Gold’s Gym Cardio Wii game and I also got the More Workouts for the original EA Sports Active.  I also picked up a few super cheap Biggest Loser workouts at the BJs a few weeks ago.
  5. Sweets:  I’ve gone WAY overboard on this one.  For now, I want to get back to one lighter sweet thing a day (like the Smart Ones desserts or light Breyers ice cream bars or whatever.)  I eventually want to cut them out.

That’s really it to begin with.  Once I’m on board with this stuff for a few weeks, I’ll focus on making my diet better and upping my exercise.  Seriously, something’s got to be done, though.  I feel so awful lately.  It’s not fun.

In other news, I’ve read 210 books this year.  I might squeak out 211 if I get to reading on the one I’ve got going now, but I’m not sure if it will happen.  I got quite a few ones for Christmas too.  I got the 2nd and 3rd books in Bujold’s Chalcion series.  I also got the new annotated Pride and Prejudice.  I got and read yesterday the one Charlaine Harris I’d never read, A Secret Rage.  I got The Man in the Iron Mask, the first Walking Dead Compendium, The Little White Horse (which I’ve read, but now I can read to Em), Buffy Season 8 (#6), and Em got The Search for WondLa that I’d love to read to her.  In addition to all that, I got a $50 GC to Barnes & Nobles and $150 in GCs to Amazon!  Whoa!  Book heaven for Jenn!  Em got quite a few too.  She’s reading this Rainbow Fairy series and also the young Nancy Drew, Nancy Drew and the Clue Crew.  She also got a Tangled novelization and Maybe Yes, Maybe No, which she’s already blazed through.  Chris even got a few books that he wanted for Christmas…some of that space opera junk that he likes. 😄

We’re all home this week.  To tell you the truth, I’m ready for Chris to go back to work and Em to go back to school.  I feel like any dieting and exercising things I try to do go much better when I’m on my own.  And I’d started watching this tv series before the break and it’s not something Chris would like and it’s not appropriate to watch with Em in the room, so I’ve been itching to watch it.  Chris isn’t even raiding right now, I don’t have evenings free to watch it either.  It’s all family, all the time and it’s gotten to be a bit much!  We don’t have much in the way of plans this week.  I think we’re going out to the Cheesecake Factory for my belated birthday dinner.  Believe it or now, I REALLY want to go for this yummy Asian Chicken Salad I had there before.  Of course monster cheesecake doesn’t hurt, but yeah.  🙂  Other than that, we have no real plans.  We’ve all got money to spend from Christmas, but I think most of mine and Chris’s we’re going to save for Disney and we’re trying to encourage Em to save her’s too, but we can’t tell her what for.  So we’re just trying not to mention shopping and hoping she’ll forget about the money for a while.  I’m ready to do a Barnes & Noble trip (of course), but I’m going to wait until everyone goes back to school and work so it won’t be do darn crowded.  We might go bowling at some point this week.  Em’s been asking about it.  We’re doing a NY thing on Friday and I need to come up with something to bring.  I’m thinking maybe the black bean dip and tortilla chips.  That’s not bad for you and it’s super yummy.  We’ll see.

I’m also downloading some new music.  I’m trying for those classic songs for now.  I’ve found quite a few that I’d never heard and I like and also quite a few that I’ve forgotten about.  As always, any music and book recommendations are much appreciated. 😄

Responses

  1. Oooh yes make that black bean dip! I am making pizza dip so something less horrid would rock. 🙂 Can’t wait to see y’all. :)))))

  2. You too! I feel like I’ve not seen anyone in ages. 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

