Posted by: wildflowerz | December 31, 2010

Should auld acquaintance be forgot, and never brought to mind…

Happy New Year (almost) people.  This will be my resolutions post for the year.  It looks like I started this blog this year in February, so my resolutions post was still on LJ.  So, first:  a recap of how my last year’s goals went:

  • Books:  I’m going to continue to keep track of the books I read and post short reviews on LJ and Shelfari.  I’m also going to continue to work my way through more of the classics.  My goal for 2010 will be to read 175 books.

TOTALLY made this one.  I’m still doing reviews and xposting them to Shelfari (and Goodreads too).  As of this very minute, I read 211 books.  I’m about to put away the computer and read some more, so there’s a chance I might get through 212.

  • Exercise:  Exercise once the first week, twice the next two weeks, three times the next three weeks and on up until I read five times a week and continue that.

I did pretty well with this goal until around November.  That’s almost the whole year.  I consider this a success.  I hope to not slack off this year.

  • Food Journal:  I’m going to write down all that I eat in a food journal.

Same as with Exercise.  I was good until November.

  • Cut Back on Sweets:  This is vague, but basically, eat fewer sweets.

This one I was good on until a week or so before Halloween.  I had a few lapses, but until Halloween, I think I did pretty damn awesome.

That was it for last year.  This year’s going to be similar.  Here they are:

  • Books: I read 211 this year.  I’m going to make my goal 200 for this year.  I read a LOT of YA this year and I hope to get back to more of those classics this year.  So, keeping that in mind, I think the 200 might be tough to do, but I’m going to give it a shot.  I’m going to keep doing my mini reviews and xposting them.  I’ll have a list here at WordPress, but the reviews will be public at my LJ.  Also, I went through my to-read pile and picked 10 books I want to read this year.  Some are classics.  Some are just books that I hadn’t gotten around to reading yet, and I want to.  So here those are:
  1. The French Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles
  2. Vanity Faire by William Makepeace Thackery
  3. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  4. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  5. Middlemarch by George Elliot
  6. Young Miles by Lois McMaster Bujold
  7. A Breath of Snow and Ashes by Diana Gabaldon
  8. An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon
  9. Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
  10. The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Exercise: I plan to start out twice a week for two weeks, three for the next three weeks, etc on up to five.  Same as last year, but I’m starting out at two instead of one.  While it’s still cold, I hope to do at least half of that outside.  Other than that, I’m sticking with games and dvds
  • Food: Back to the almost no sweets and eating more natural foods.  It worked last year, so here goes again.  I’m feeling pretty crappy lately, so hopefully this will help me feel better.
Leave a Reply

Categories

