Posted by: wildflowerz | January 13, 2011

I can teach you how to bewitch the mind and ensnare the senses.

Holy crap, I’ve so had enough of this.  I’m 34 years old.  In all that time, snow could be expected to conform to some rules.  If it snowed at all, it usually didn’t stick.  If it DID stick, it usually only lasted the next day before the temps rose and it all melted.  And most of the time?  This all happened on the weekends, so there wasn’t even any school missed.  Of course, as a kid, I hated it.  Now as an adult, I look back fondly.  Even the unprecedented snow we had at Christmas didn’t really stick around much.  The snow on the roads was gone in a couple of days.  However, we were all out of school and work anyway, so we’d still be home.  But THIS time, when it snowed on Monday we got about 6 inches.  6 inches of snow that stuck to the roads and grass and anything else in it’s way.  And then it stayed cold.  It was 50 plus degrees last week, but this week when it snows it can’t get above freezing!  I doubt anyone’s reading this who isn’t within driving distance of me, but just in case:  Let me clue you in.  This is Georgia.  We don’t get snow much, so there’s no preparation for it.  People don’t have snow tires.  There are very few snow plows.  And we don’t have buckets of salt sitting around for just such an occasion.  We are totally and completely unprepared.  So 6 inches of snow shuts the entire state down.  The mail’s not running.  The schools aren’t open.  Em has been out of school ALL this week.  I doubt she’s going back tomorrow, but maybe.

So, this means that she was out for over two weeks at Christmas.  She went back to school for 4 days last week.  She’s been out all this week.  She may or may not go to school tomorrow and then she’s out all next week for Disney.  DISNEY!  I’m so excited, I can barely stand it.  We’re waking her up and telling her on Saturday and then driving down.  We should get there around 2pm or so, so I think we’ll do Downtown Disney and shop a bit the first day.  I’m sure I’ll be doing a long, drawn out trip report that no one cares about in the least when I get back, so you’ve got that to look forward to.  /snicker

I am a bit disappointed.  Chris remembered that we needed to measure Em’s height and see if there’s anything Em can’t ride.  We lucked out with Disney and other that some water park and DisneyQuest stuff (is that still around) that we’re not doing anyway, she’s only too short for Primeval Whirl and the Rockin’ Rollercoaster.  The second one’s a shame because she’s going to LOVE roller coasters, and the Rockin’ one is AWESOME, but still.  However, Chris thought to look at Universal and there’s quite a few things there she can’t do.  Most of it wouldn’t be a problem, but TWO of them are Harry Potter rides!  How sad!  Oh well.

Speaking of Harry Potter…my 6 year old is reading Sorcerer’s Stone.  No, really.  She was reading a Ramona book when I decided to pick up the first one and just see if she could read it.  So she read the first page to me with little problem.  Immediately she wanted to give up Ramona and start on Harry.  She’s so cute.  I looked it up and while it’s a long book (worth 12 AR points), it’s only level 5.5.  That’s not much higher than the 1 and 2 points she’s already reading.  Still it seems amazing to me and I’m proud of my cutie.

Today, Chris went to work.  He said the road wasn’t too bad, but the main road out of our subdivision was a bit hairy, getting down to one lane.  I plan on going to the grocery store today, but I’m going to take the really long way so I don’t have to do really curvy, small backroads.  If that goes well, we might do Old Navy too.  I’d like a zip up hoodie to take to Disney.  I have light sweaters, but I’d rather have something a bit sturdier for a light jacket.  I just realized I didn’t have anything like that.

Let’s see…how about tv stuff:  I watched about a quarter of the first 2 hour episode of The Cape.  It was…so not good.  I was bored.  So, I decided I’d leave off on that one and if it’s getting good buzz from the geeks I’ll try it again.  Mostly it just looked…kind of stupid.  So, yeah.  Did I mention I finished up the British Skins?  I finished all 4 seasons of that and I finished the third season of Gavin and Stacey too.  Nessa cracks me up!  Chris is going to try Bob’s Burgers (I think it already started, but I haven’t watched yet).  I’ve got the Tivo set to record the American versions of Skins and Being Human.  They are going to suck SO HARD.   I mean, Skins is being done by MTV and have you seen the people they cast for Being Human?  Particularly the Russell Tovey werewolf character?  Ug.  Sam Witwer might be okay, but I’m unsure about the other two.  Also, aren’t they LITERALLY remaking them?  What the hell’s the use of that?  Still, I have to give it a show because I love the originals so much.  Speaking of that, I’d had my Tivo pick up Downtown Abbey, but it was a bit boring.  However, it’s part of Masterpiece Classic series and I set a season pass.  So it recorded a version of Wuthering Heights that’s got Jack O’Connell (Cook from Skins), Tom Hardy (Inception and tons of other stuff), and Burn Gorman (Torchwood)!  I can’t wait to give it a shot.

So yeah.  I think I’ve yammered enough for one entry.  And we’re watching Harry Potter, so frankly I have better things to do that to monologue on boring stuff to you lot.  XD

Leave a Reply

Categories

