Posted by: wildflowerz | January 24, 2011

The second star to the right shines in the night for you to tell you that the dreams you plan really can come true.

Aaand, we’re back!  I’m going to go day by day.  These are gonna be long, I’m just warning you now.  Here’s a link to all my pictures, but I’m going to post some of my favorites with my entries.  So, here we go:

Day One – Travel Day & Downtown Disney

We woke up at 6am and told Em what the deal was.  She was very excited.  The drive down was uneventful.  Why is it that when we were younger, the drive TO somewhere always felt like it took years and the drive back felt like it took minutes.  Though, now that I’m an adult, it felt the opposite!  Anyway, we had McD’s in the car for breakfast.  We had lunch at BK and it was fairly revolting.  We arrived at Pop Century around 3pm and checked in.  Em got a birthday button and balloons!  Our room was the 1990s section and generally unremarkable.  It was small with two double beds and a small bathroom.  Nothing about the room actually screamed “90s.”  In fact, the bedspreads looked like they were the same for all of Pop.  And we had a poster on the wall showing stuff from the 1980s.  /shrug  We were very close to the pool and pretty close to the buses.

We settled in a bit and then took the bus to Downtown Disney.  The first shop we went in was the one where you design your own tees and Mickey hats.  Em got cute Mickey earrings, an “Emily” necklace, and a pink Minnie Mouse hat with a tiara and little veil trailing out the back.  We te at Rainforest Café and it was YUM.  I got China Island Salad and a pomengranate alcoholic lemonade.  Em got pizza and a slushie in a frog drink container with a toy in the bottom.  Chris got beer on tap and a seafood trio which he said was okay.  I had planned on taking food pictures our entire trip, but mostly I forgot.  Afterwards, we went to candy store and Em got a mixed bag of stuff and rock candy.  Chris and I got cookies that were very large and dense and neither of us could eat them both.  Chris liked his (and mine), but I didn’t care much for mine.  We went to World of Mickey for a bit but Em just wanted to go back to the pool and swim.  Got her a little Tink set kinda like Polly Pockets.  We briefly looked at the Lego sculptures and then came back to the motel.  The bus to Pop took about 25 minutes.

We went to the pool and it was pretty cold.  I thought that the pools were supposed to be heated.  They definitely were the last time we came in 2000, but this one was freezing!  The computer pool’s the one right outside our door.  We didn’t have enough towels to use at the pool and take a shower so it was tricky and we got the whole room wet.  We learned from that for later.  Em was tired and went to bed, but had a hard time going to sleep.  Chris and I read with book lights for a bit before going to sleep too.  I had an awful time sleeping…tossing and turning.  The bed was so small (and I’m so large) that I had to get up to turn over.  Also the bed was hard so lying on my side for too long made my hip hurt.

Leave a Reply

Categories

