Posted by: wildflowerz | February 1, 2011

You’re not as brave as you were at the start. Rate yourself and rake yourself. Take all the courage you have left. Wasted on fixing all the problems that you made in your own head.

It’s happened.  Em finally brought home her first bad grade.  Last week, she was doing double homework and double spelling words since she was out the week before.  She was pretty frustrated with it and between the 2 word lists, she was missing quite a few.  Usually, but the end of the week, she’s consistently getting them all right.  Last week, she was still having a problem with 1 word on each list.  So, last week’s list, she missed 1, though not the 1 she was having such a problem with.  Not bad.  The week before’s list, though?  She missed 4 and got 60%.  Though, I asked her spell them all for me out loud when she came home and she only missed 1…the 1 she’d been getting wrong.  So, my thought is that she just rushed through it.  She says she didn’t.  /shrug  We didn’t dwell on it.  Everyone can screw up and it was an odd circumstance.

In good news, though, we also got her STAR reading assessment.  She started the year at a 2.0, which, of course, means that she read like a 2nd grader starting the year.  In October, they redid it and she was up to 2.4.  They just did them again and she’s up to 3.0.  It’s nothing we didn’t know.  She very much excels at reading.  She does fine with other stuff, but reading’s her best.  If I had to pick one, that’s what I’d have picked.  I mean, if you can read well, it makes all the other stuff much easier, yeah?  Anyway.  On that front, she’s up to 82 AR points.  She’s now doing 1 a day most every day now.

I’m trying to work my way through seeing all the Oscar nominated movies.  I’m doing well.  I’ve seen:  Black Swan, Inception, The Kids are Alright, The Social Network, True Grit, Toy Story 3, and Winter’s Bone.  I’ve got 127 Hours, The King’s Speech, and The Fighter left to watch.  I’m going to watch The King’s Speech next, I think.  Oh, Colin Firth.  It’s fun.  I’ve never watched all the nominated movies before.  I didn’t care for Winter’s Bone as much, but the rest were pretty good.  We watched True Grit last night and I was pretty surprised.  It was pretty good!

Leave a Reply

Categories

