Posted by: wildflowerz | February 16, 2011

Then the techno music starts to play and the room smells like Axe body spray. I’m like Golda Mier with no gold in my ear. Please tell me what the hell happened here. Yo, it ain’t pretty but you know it’s the truth: This party just took a turn for the douche.

2 days in a row I’ve exercised.  Look at me and how awesome I am. 🙂  I’m feeling a bit better about getting back on the wagon.  I’ve been thinking some about that too.  So, I’ve usually looked at starting some type of weight loss plan when I’m doing it on my own as a gradual process.  I’ve felt like if I start off with several small things and then work my way up, it’s a better plan than going full on diet.  But when I look back at times in my life when I’ve gone full on diet mode, THOSE are the times I’ve been more successful.  So, that would probably be a better plan for me.

So, then I’ve also been looking for some big motivation to get me started again.  The last thing that did it was our neighborhood’s Biggest Loser competition.  Something about competing really made me step up and get with it.  It helped too that I didn’t know most of the people I was competing against, so there were no feelings to get hurt.  And we didn’t see the other people, it was just a weigh in at the beginning and a weigh in at the end.  But despite the promise that we were going to do another one at the beginning of the year, it’s yet to happen, so I need to find something else to motivate me.

That brings me up to today.  I’m not sure if it’s the crappy lots of snow that we’ve gotten or it’s the sudden, recent increase in temperature, but I’m itching for summer.  And that’s weird for me.  I LOVE winter.  I love cold weather and bundling up, but for some reason this year it feels like the colds been going on FOREVER and I’m a bit tired of it.  Plus, I like being home with Em during the summer and going to the pool every day.  So.  What about bathing suit weather?  Maybe that can be what I’m working towards.  But what, exactly?  I could say a certain size, but I’m not sure what that would be.  I usually think in terms of pounds lost, but I don’t know how that equates to size.  So, I think I’ll go ahead and make a pound goal, but with bathing suits in mind.

So, what’s the goal?  Well, our pool usually opens a couple of weeks before Memorial Day.  It’s always too freakin’ cold to get in the water then, but Em insists, so we usually go and give it a shot, so I’ll make that my date goal.  Memorial Day’s on the 30th, so I’m going to say May 13th.  That’s a Friday.  That’s 12 weeks from now.  If a healthy weight loss is 1-2lbs a week, I’m going to be aggressive and aim for 2lbs a week for a total of 24lbs lost in 12 weeks.

Great, now I’ve got a goal.  What I need now is a plan.  So.  Exercise is easier for me, so I’ll start with that.  I want to do an hour a day for 5 days during the week.  Extra is awesome, but that’s going to be my minimum.  However, exercise is one area where I think that working up to my goal’s a better idea.  If the past has taught me anything, it’s that working up to an hour’s not going to be hard at all.  I get bored a lot of times doing a whole hour of the same thing, so the hour will probably be made up of several things.  To start with, my goal’s going to be 30 minutes a day for 5 days and then I’ll add more.

Other than exercise, here’s my plan:

  • Water:  8-10 cups of water per day
  • Caffeine:  1 drink/day for now and hopefully none later
  • Sweets:  No thank you.
  • Eating Out:  Back to making the healthiest choices – nothing fried, less with the starches and more with the vegetables, of course no desserts
  • Other food:  non processed foods, whole grains, more vegetables, less starches

So, there we go.  I’m optimistic.  Officially I’m starting on Friday with my first official weigh in.  However, until then, I’m going to work on the other stuff.  I’m going to do my best, but not beat myself up too much.

Responses

  1. Woo-hoo, go you!!! I love your plan, I love your goals, I love that you are working out two days in a row!!

    I am having the same (weird, surprising) reaction to spring, too this year! Maybe it is all the snow and ice and misery, maybe it is the fact that last summer was less miserable because I weighed less, but I am SO READY for summer. Don’t quote me on that or anything when I am complaining about the heat, though, and I will do the same for you. 🙂

    I am going to make a goal like yours. I am going to totally steal your deadline – we usually go to VA for Memorial Weekend so it makes personal sense for me, too, and it is sort of the start of summer. Is that OK?

    I hesitate to say this, but competition gets me going, too. Any interest in a friendly competition or do you think feelers would be crushed? Are we too competitive to each toss in a $25 gift card? Think anyone else would want in?

  2. I don’t mind you stealing my date. 🙂 Just remember, you heard it here first. /lol

    I thought about bringing that up with y’all, but I’m not quite sure that competition among us friends would be a good idea. It might, but for me, when you know someone better, it’s easier to pick apart the things they say and do and I think it might be a recipe for disaster. 😦 I did like your idea before about us all doing something once we reached a certain weight loss number as a group. That way it’s more of a cooperative thing?

  3. I am pretty sure that neither Sevedra nor Michele would be down for a competition. They MIGHT be in for a cooperative thing though!

    What if we all (whoever wanted) kick in a $25 gift card (or just the money) now, and then we can spend as much of it as we actually lose on something like mani-pedi or a dinner out? Hmmm…. thoughts?


Leave a Reply

Categories

