Posted by: wildflowerz | February 20, 2011

Can’t you see the sky is not the limit no more? I can see the elevator crash through the floor. I can still see yesterday sailing away. Seven billion people who got nothing to say.

Well, we didn’t stay in and watch tv like old people, so that’s something, right?

I wasn’t sure when my mom was coming yesterday, but she’d said something about us all doing dinner before she took Em back home with her, so I thought she’d be coming later in the day.  So consequently, I wrote off Saturday for anything fun for us to do.  My mom came around 10am yesterday and Em picked Chili’s for us for lunch, so we did that.  Afterwards, we went down to the mall for a look around. We got Em some cute Croc flip flops.  My mom bought Girl Scout cookies.  Before we left, we went to the Disney store.  I tell you, I could buy everything in that place!  Em used a gift card she got for her birthday and bought one of the fancy nightgowns.  She choose Rapunzel since it’s her new obsession.  Chris got a Perry the Platypus shirt and I got a cute black Mickey one.  My mom wanted some Teva Mushs like I have, so we gave Off Broadway a shot.  They didn’t have them yet.  She did get some other type of cute Tevas and a super cute pair of dark red heels that were majorly on sale.  Chris got some cute leather mandles.  Em got a pair of brown flats and some super cute cowboy boots that were majorly on sale too.  OBS has boots $10 or $20 off and her’s were already only $25 to begin with.  After we came home, Mom took Em home with her.

Chris found a couple of options for us.  One was a comic I didn’t know too well as a comic.  I don’t remember his name.  Unfortunately, while Margaret Cho was here last night, she was sold out.  So he also found an Agatha Christie play at some place downtown near Tech.  I opted for that.  However, I didn’t have complete information.  This was at some sort of oddly named place I’d never heard of…Fabrefaction or something else weird like that.  It was in this warehouse type place where most of it looked unfinished.  The actual theatre part was VERY small, only 6 rows of seats, but probably room for at least 30 or so on each row.  That part was okay, but the part that would have changed our mind is that this was a student production.  It was high school students (all save one) all over the area.  Still, it could have been good.

Let me back up a bit.  It’s been so long since Chris was in school and when he was, he ate at super cheapo places, that he didn’t know any good places to eat near there, so we decided we’d stop by the Spaghetti Warehouse on the way.  Though, when we got there, we saw that it was out of business!  Oh no!  We loved that place.  So, we drover over to Vinings and ate at La Paz.  There used to be one close to us that we at ALL the time and loved.  The food was yum.  While we were there we saw that they were doing a kind of mini cooking lesson thing on Monday evening from 6-8 for only $10 with heavy appetizers, so I think we’re going to do that.

Anyway, after that, we went down to the theatre.  It’s pretty close to the Atlanta Humane Society.  Anyway, the show was….abysmal.  First off, before the show, they had this really show show-tune type music on.  Except that it was really the same 2-3 very long songs playing over and over again.  Since we were pretty early, it got annoying quickly.  Anyway, on to the actual play.  It ranged from one recent college grad (who was actually pretty good), down to a couple of seventh graders.  I suppose for their age, it wasn’t bad.  But I have to admit that I lost a lot of the story because the main person who was to recap the background of the current events talked so damn fast I couldn’t hear what was going on.  It was quite maddening.  One good thing that came out of it is that now I want to read Agatha Christie.  I gave her a shot back in middle school or high school, but I should try again.  Oh, for the record, this was The Mousetrap.

So, in other news, I think we’ll be getting a dog at some point.  Em is completely enamored of them and really wants one.  She has for ages.  I think we might start looking for one some time soon.  After seeing them at the mall yesterday, we had to have a discussion with her about puppy mills.  That was great.  She wants a little, white dog.  I doubt that will happen.  I think we’ll go look at PetLand (no puppy mills), but they’re REALLY expensive.  So, we’d almost definitely end up looking at animal shelters.  Plus, it’s better that way…in so many ways, of course.  🙂

Oh, we also saw the signs for Borders yesterday.  A friend had told me that our’s was going out of business just the other day, but I didn’t realize it was so imminent.  I hope to head down there on Monday and maybe find some cheap books!  I hope the sale hasn’t been going on too very long and it’s not too picked over yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

