Posted by: wildflowerz | February 28, 2011

83rd Academy Awards

I watched the Academy Awards last night.  I can’t tell you the last time I’ve done that.  It’s been ages.  At least 10 years since I watched any kind of awards show, even the fun ones on MTV.  Here’s how my predictions went, as well as the winners of everything, so SPOILERS:

  • Best Sound Mixing:My Pick-Inception, Won-Inception
  • Best Sound Editing: My Pick-Inception, Won-Inception
  • Best Visual Effects:My Pick-Inception, Won-Inception
  • Best Makeup: My Pick-None, Won-The Wolfman
  • Best Original Song: My Pick-“I See the Light” from Tangled, Won-“We Belong Together” from Toy Story 3
  • Best Original Score:My Pick-Inception, Won-The Social Network
  • Best Live Action Short:My Pick-None, Won-God of Love
  • Best Film Editing:My Pick-Black Swan, Won-The Social Network
  • Best Costume Design: My Pick-Alice in Wonderland, Won-Alice in Wonderland
  • Best Cinematography:My Pick-Inception, Won-Inception
  • Best Art Direction:My Pick-Alice in Wonderland, Won-Alice in Wonderland
  • Best Documentary Short:My Pick-None, Won-Stranger No More
  • Best Animated Short: My Pick-None, Won-The Lost Things
  • Best Documentary Feature:My Pick-None, Won-Inside Job
  • Best Foreign Language Film:My Pick-None, Won-In a Better World
  • Best Animated Feature:My Pick-Toy Story 3, Won-Toy Story 3
  • Best Adapted Screenplay:My Pick-True Grit, Won-The Social Network
  • Best Original Screenplay:My Pick-Inception, Won-The King’s Speech
  • Best Supporting Actress:My Pick-Hailee Steinfeld for True Grit, Won-Melissa Leo for The Fighter
  • Best Supporting Actor: My Pick-Christian Bale for The Fighter, Won-Christian Bale for The Fighter
  • Best Actress: My Pick-Natalie Portman for Black Swan, Won-Natalie Portman for Black Swan
  • Best Actor:My Pick-Colin Firth for The King’s Speech, Won-Colin Firth for The King’s Speech
  • Best Director: My Pick-Darren Aronofsky for Black Swan, Won-Tom Hooper for The King’s Speech
  • Best Picture: My Pick-Inception, Won-The King’s Speech

I didn’t necessarily make my picks about the ones I thought would win, but the ones I thought should win.  Can I just say that I have no idea who Melissa Leo is?  And when they showed the clip from her in The Fighter, I still couldn’t pick her out.  I didn’t really care for The Fighter myself, but I did think asshat Bale did a great job.  Wahlberg was alright, as was Adams, but I didn’t think anyone else was particularly outstanding.  I was happy to see all the King’s Speech love though.

Here’s some random thoughts:

  • Franco in that before the show thing from the Green Room:  What the hell?  Is he really continually high?  And shouldn’t someone have told him to lay off before hosting?
  • Matthew McConaughey:  Yikes!  What was wrong with his face?  It’s was orange and kind of blotchy weird.
  • Cate Blanchett’s Dress:  That was bad.  But I love her.
  • Randy Newman’s voice audio wasn’t up high enough, so it didn’t quite sound right.
  • Zachary Levi love, but Mandy Moore sounded like she was singing through a cold.
  • Harry Potter Tiny Ball of Light:  That was kinda cute.
  • Robert Downey Jr & Jude Law were too funny.  Most of the rest of the host “banter” fell rather flat, but they were good.
  • Michelle Williams:  What did she do to her eyebrows?  She looked like Anne Hathaway or Audrey Hepburn.
  • Sandra Bulloch so did not look happy when she came out to present.
  • Jesse Eisenburg’s kind of an odd guy, isn’t he?  From his pre-show red carpet interview it looked like he’s got the same personality as his character in The Social Network
  • The show ran over JUST enough that I missed the Best Picture presentation, so I had to Google that this morning.

So, I got 10 right out of the 18 I predicted.  That’s much better than I would have thought. 🙂

Responses

  1. Very well said. I for no reason considered I would agree with this thoughts and opinions, however I’m starting to view things from a different view. I have got to research much more on that as it would seem really exciting. One issue I don’t understand though is how almost everything is associated together.


Leave a Reply

Categories

