Posted by: wildflowerz | March 10, 2011

Honesty is for the most part less profitable than dishonesty. -Plato

So, I have a tiny bit of a conundrum.  Em did the Fun Run today.  At the end, she did 30 laps.  The minimum was 25 and the cap was 35.  They wore tee shirts with a little oval track on the back, divided into 35 spaces.  Every time they did a lap, they lined up with a teacher and the teacher would mark the next number.  Em came home and her shirt was marked up to 35.  I asked her what happened and she said that her teacher marked them all up to 35 so they’d get more money.

Am I the only one that sees something wrong with this?  Isn’t that giving the kids the wrong message?  Shouldn’t I expect better from my kid’s teacher?  But then I started thinking about it more.  When we go to the movies, we rarely get food there, but do every once in a while.  Occasionally we’ve been known to bring in food.  That’s dishonest too since it’s not really allowed.  So am I being hypocritical?  I think I probably am.  Am I wrong that this gives me pause?  Are there levels to dishonesty?  Should I say something?  Chris would probably say I’m making something out of nothing.

*Update*:  Chris actually agreed with me on this one.  Em and I had another chat about it and I left it up to her whether we were going to say anything about it.  She opted not to.  However, it keeps bugging me.  So, I just went to check her thing online and it’s been entered there as 30 laps and not 35.  So…who knows what happened?  It’s entered correctly, so I guess I should have no issue, but it does bug me a little bit.  Anyway, as final total, here’s what Em’s class did:

  • Pledged Per Lap:  $47.65
  • Flat donations:  $857.00
  • Total Pledged Per Lap:  $76.22 (Each $30 donation equaled $1/lap in their estimation)
  • Total Raised:  $1668.35
  • Total Laps Ran:  527

There are 21 kids in her class, but I don’t know if they were all there today.

Responses

  1. Ok that is a little disturbing. I mean, what are you TEACHING the kids by doing that… that they don’t have to finish things, that it’s ok to lie for a “good” cause. Eeek. I wouldn’t go screaming to the teacher about it, but I would certainly make sure Em knows that probably wasn’t right. As for the food in the movies, etc…. bleh, no one is perfect and shit happens… but I totally expect more out of a teacher at school, especially with such little kids. What would she say if they only did MOST of their work? Mixed messages to littles FTL.

    • I’m actually pretty surprised about it. I mean, I’ve thought pretty highly of her teacher until now. I definitely did talk to Em about it when she told me about it, but it just makes me feel a bit uneasy.

  2. Why don’t you email her teacher (or call) and say “hey, her shirt is marked 35 but online says 30. Which one is correct”
    Maybe Em misunderstood the teacher. If it were me, i’d simply ask

    • I did actually end up doing that last night. I haven’t heard back from her yet. We’ll see I guess. 🙂

      • Let us know what you find out 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

