Posted by: wildflowerz | March 16, 2011

This is a gift, it comes with a price. Who is the lamb and who is the knife? Midas is king and he holds me so tight and turns me to gold in the sunlight.

So, I was talking to Emily this evening at dinner.  She has one BFF that’s in her class and on her bus, living close to us in our neighborhood and another BFF that she rides the bus with and also lives close to us in the neighborhood.  Both girls seem very sweet and we like them and their families a lot, so what I’m about to say has nothing at all to do with being unhappy that Em’s friends with them, because I’m TOTALLY not thinking that.  So, other than those two girls, Em has a few other friends:  a few from her soccer team, some daughters of mine and Chris’s friends, etc.

Let me back up a tad.  If I ask Em and open question like, “What did you do at school today?”  I usually get answers like, “Nothing” or “I don’t know.”  So, I’ve learned to ask more specific questions.  I usually go through a bunch when she gets home every day.  Usually it goes something like this:

  • Did you learn anything at school today?  (Usually the answer is “no” or “I don’t remember”)
  • Did you do any math?
  • Did you do any reading?
  • Did you work on the computers?
  • What Special did you have today and what did you do?
  • Who did you sit with on the bus this morning?  This afternoon?
  • Who did you sit with at lunch?
  • Who did you play with at recess?

So, the answers to the last 3 are always the same.  If neither girl happens to be on the bus, Em usually sits alone or sits with someone she doesn’t know (and evidently doesn’t bother to get to know ’cause she never knows their name).  So, I was asking her today if she had any other friends in the class.  I get a lot of shrugging and “I don’t know.”  I start going through all the girl names in her class and most of them I wheedle out of her that she doesn’t really like them, but she can’t really tell me why.  The only thing I get is about one girl who she says is bossy and most of the other girls are friends with her, so she’s not.  Now, I do know the girl she’s talking about.  At the beginning of the year we ran into her a bunch at the Fall Festival and Em would try and say hello to her every time and the little brat ignored Em every time.  Not even being polite enough to say hello.  So, I kinda see how that is, but already?  Jeez!

I’m really happy that she has 2 really good friends, but I wish she were friendly with other kids too, ya know?  She doesn’t get to see any of the kids she had in her kindergarten class and most of those girls were really sweet.  At least, they were sweet in kindergarten.  Maybe they’re like the girls in Em’s class now.  I don’t know.  At the beginning of the year she constantly played with these two other girls, A and M.  It was funny because she didn’t know their names at the beginning and could never remember them, she just knew that they were the other two blonde girls.  🙂  However, since her new BFF came to our school, she plays with no one but her.  And evidently they play together and never with anyone else either…if they’re together, I mean.  For instance, I’m sure the other little girl has other friends she plays with at ASP and soccer, etc.

So, I don’t know.  Is this worrisome?  I think I’m probably worrying over nothing.  I just know that last year all the little girls in Em’s class were friends and they played together all the time.  We went to quite a few birthday parties too.  This year?  Em’s been invited to 1.  Are they not doing parties or is Em just not invited?  I don’t know.  I know WE didn’t do a bigger party like we did last year, but surely not everyone’s doing the same thing.

Jeez, parenting is hard!

Responses

  1. I thought it was only my kid that doesn’t do a darn thing at school all day. I guess there are others like him HA HA
    Dom, how was school? Fine. What did you do? Nothing. Really?
    Anyway, I wouldn’t worry about her not playing with other girls. Dom has 2 friends in his class and he tells me they always play together and he never plays with anyone else. I am sure as the kids get older, they will make more friends. He has ONE friend at his TKD class and only because they go to the same school. Not same class, but school.
    We, as parents, worry way too much 🙂

    • I’m sure it’s fine, but it’s my baby! 😛 Nah, I talked to her teacher today when I was in volunteering and she said it is pretty much like I thought: Em and her BFF play only together. There’s one girl who never plays with anyone really, but wanders around the play ground, looking for sticks and leaves. The rest of the girls seem to flock to this one girl ’cause she’s kinda more outgoing and she’s bigger than all the other girls. /shrug The teacher did offer to suggest that Em and her BFF are in the same class next year, but I’m not sure how I feel about that. On one hand, I was annoyed that all her kindergarten friends ended up in a class without her and Em didn’t even have 1 friend in her class, so it would be nice if they were together. On the other hand, if BFFs not in there, Em has to make new friends. And since BFF is in the neighborhood, they’ll still see each other a lot. /shrug I dunno.


Leave a Reply

Categories

