Posted by: wildflowerz | March 21, 2011

I know it might seem odd because you’re not the only one. I remember myself as a lonely child. So I was and you got me wrong. You got me wrong.

Hi guys!  I come asking for recommendations.  That usually nets me nothing, but I’m going to do it anyways.  So, I’ve been looking into what Em and I are going to do this summer and I figured out that she’s got exactly 9 weeks.  So, I divided each week into a different topic that we’re going to touch on.  Also, I’d like to do one crafty thing each week, one simple science experiment each week, and some pages from the math books I got her (One’s a small MindWare and the other’s a big one from Sylvan for 2nd grade).  I’ve found a bunch of books that my library has too for each of the topics.  I’ll post those below.  What I really need most is a good book of easy science projects.  Bonus points if my library system has it, but if it’s a decent one, I’ll buy it. Alternatively, a good website for easy science projects.  I think with all the crafts Em got for Christmas and her birthday, we’ll probably be fine with those for the summer.  So here’s what I’ve got:

  • Week 1:  Critical ThinkingMaybe Yes, Maybe No by Dan Barker and The Emperor’s New Clothes by Hans Christian Anderson – She got the first one at Christmas and has read it several times already, so I’d like some additional books to go with this week.
  • Week 2:  Evolution – Big Bang, The Story of the Universe by Nigel Henbest, A Log’s Life by Wendy Pfeffer, Evolution by Linda Gamlin, and How Whales Walked Into the Sea by Faith McNulty
  • Week 3:  Religion – One World, Many Religions:  The Ways We Worship by Mary Pope Osborne & The Children’s Illustrated Bible by Selina Hastings – Depending on how comprehensive the first one is, I’d also like some easy books skimming Judaism, Buddhism, Islam, and Hinduism.  A book on creation myths around the world would be awesome too.
  • Week 4:  Gender – Mermaid Janine by Iolette Thomas, Mama and Me and the Model T by Faye Gibbons, and Little Granny Quarterback by Michael R. Sampson
  • Week 5:  Sex Ed – Where Did I Come From? by Peter Mayle and It’s So Amazing by Robie Harris – The first one we’ve read before and own, so it’s just a refresher.  It’s So Amazing is VERY long and comprehensive so we’ve looked at some of it before, but not all of it.  We also own it, of course.
  • Week 6:  Peace and Nonviolence – Peaceful Piggy Meditation by Kerry Lee MacLean and Enemy Pie by Derek  Munson
  • Week 7:  Environmental Responsibility – Keepers of the Earth:  Native American Stories and Environmental Activities for Children by Joseph Bruchac – I could use some more books for this week, but I think I’ll probably have luck looking at the library.
  • Week 8:  Values – Ira Sleeps Over by Bernard Waber and Love Your Neighbor:  Stories of Values and Virtues by Arthur  Dobrin
  • Week 9:  Creativity – The Art Lesson by Tomie dePaola and Amazing Grace by Mary Hoffman

I have several more books for each topic, but I’d probably have to buy them.  In addition to those, I’ve also got some other books on random topics I want to do with her.  Only one’s at the library:  Anna Banana and Me by Lenore Blefvad.  That one’s about friendship.  The library also has a craft book that’s potentially interesting:  The Kids Multicultural Art Book:  Art & Craft Experiences from Around the World by Alexandra M. Terzian.

So, yeah.  That’s what I’ve got going on right now.  Anyone have any recommendations on those topics?

Leave a Reply

Categories

