Posted by: wildflowerz | March 25, 2011

Mister Sifter sold me songs when I was just sixteen. Now he stops at traffic lights but only when they’re green.

I haven’t posted about books in a while, I don’t think.  I’ve gotten a bad streak recently.  I picked up Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer from the library and I really wanted to like it.  But it was just another in a long line of adult books told from the POV of an autistic or asperger’s boy and it didn’t do it nearly as well as some I’ve read.  I couldn’t finish it.  So, I went to Borders the other day and they’re at 40% off (our’s is going out of business. 😦 ) and I found the first two in Raven Hart’s Savannah Vampire Series.  Now, I’d seen these advertised in local used book stores, but never for sale there and I didn’t know much about them.  But it’s a vampire series set in the state I live in and they were 40% off, so I thought I’d give them a shot.  Mistake.  I tried the first one and it just really sucked ass.  Like whoa.  I didn’t make it more than 10 pages and I’ve really tried to do better about giving things a fair chance lately, but this one really didn’t deserve it.  /shudder  So, on I moved to Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity.  You know, the one that John Cusack movie was based on?  Turns out, despite the fact that the book frequently appears on those lists of top books everyone should read and the like, this one also sucked.  In fact, though it’s been years, I’m going to say that it sucked worse than the movie.  Though, I’d attribute that to the fact that there was a distinct lack of Cusack in the book and he can make anything better, imho.  So, there’s that.  I’m on to the first of another vampire series I picked up at a used book store.  I’d kinda like to start something I’m more sure of (maybe the next Diana Gabaldon?), but I feel like I need to clear out my library queue.  The thing is that I keep adding to the queue.

I have cut down on series stuff.  I’ve finished quite a few and haven’t added more.  Yay me.  Here’s the series I’m reading now:

  • The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher – Newest just came out in paperback, but I haven’t seen it anywhere yet.
  • Bubbles Yablonsky by Sarah Strohmeyer – Short series and I need to read the 2 newest ones.
  • Stephanie Plum by Janet Evanovich – Caught up.
  • Anita Blake by Laurell K Hamilton – Caught up.
  • Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris – Caught up.
  • Mercy Thompson by Patricia Briggs – I’ve got the newest one on hold at the library.
  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – Read all but the 2 newest ones.  I own them, but haven’t gotten to them yet.
  • Women of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong – I’m stuck at Frostbitten.  The library doesn’t have it and I haven’t picked it up yet.
  • In Death by J. D. Robb – Only 15 or so into this insanely long series.
  • Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold – I’ve got the last one, just haven’t read it yet.
  • Argeneau by Lynsay Sands – Caught up.
  • Nocturne City by Caitlin Kitteredge – Only read 2 of these (1 and 4), but I’m on the lookout for the rest.
  • Incarceron by Catherine Fisher – Caught up.
  • The Lying Game by Sara Shepard – Caught up.
  • Darkest Powers by Kelley Armstrong – Caught up.
  • House of Night by PC & Kristin Cast – Caught up.
  • Percy Jackson & The Olympians by Rick Riordan – We own all these and I’m reading them to Em, but we’ve not gotten to the last 2.
  • Cassandra Palmer by Karen Chance – Only just started this series.
  • The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins – Only 2 into this series.  I took a break fro it for other stuff.
Leave a Reply

Categories

