Posted by: wildflowerz | April 12, 2011

I see no point in what you’re thinking. I’m going out, I’m taking you drinking. I get the car, you’re getting up. I’m standing tall, well fucking tough.

Oh hell.

Yesterday started out pretty well.  I was feeling great about getting the house cleaned and I had the little vacuum marks on the carpet to admire.  I went out just before lunch to get gas and then to the grocery store.  I went to the gas station and then was crossing the road to come into the parking lot where the Publix is.  Just as I turned into the parking lot, my car died.  All the power.  I tried to steer it into a parking lot, but with no power steering, I couldn’t turn sharp enough and if I kept going forward I was going to run into the curb and the pole with the parking lot lights on it.  So, my ass end was stuck out in the driving area of the parking lot.  I called our roadside assistance and got someone on the way.  The wait time was 50 minutes.  So, I got on the phone with Chris and freaked out.  I don’t deal with these situations well…can you tell?  So after about 15 minutes, once I tried the car again, it started fine and I was able to back up and pull into a parking spot.  The van sounded fine and I could have probably made it to the repair place (which was only a few miles away), but I was scared to try and have it fail in a more dangerous area.  So I waited.

The tow guy got there earlier than the 50 minutes (whoa!) and was REALLY nice.  He took me to the repair place we’ve used in the past.  I sat around there until 1:30 while they looked at it.  I still hadn’t had lunch.  Finally they got back to me and didn’t know exactly what it was, but got 3 codes from the computer that was the problem.  But they needed to “run a diagnostic” to figure out what it was, which was going to take another hour.  I think “run a diagnostic” is just code for looking up the codes, but whatever.  So, I got them to take me home.  I met Em at the bus stop and came home.  They called a while later and told me what it was, but honestly, I’ve no clue.  Evidently there was something that was supposed to be replaced at our 30k mile checkup, but wasn’t.  So, for over $800 they could fix it all up for me.  Ug.  In the end, they gave us a $50 off from some internet coupon and put a couple of free oil changes on our account for the future.  So, in the end it was $778 with some future oil changes for free.  I got the car back last night and went to the grocery store instead of going to Em’s soccer practice.

I woke up this morning around 3:30 with a monster headache.  I drifted in and out of sleep (mostly out) until the alarm went off at 6:20.  I still have a major headache, but it’s a bit better now that the sun’s up and I’m accustomed to the light.  I still feel like ass.  I’ve downed a 20oz Diet Mountain Dew, some Aleeve, and I’m working on water now.  Hopefully between all that I can get it to go away.  I have a feeling it won’t be gone until tomorrow, though.  Usually I get headaches and they don’t go away until I sleep again.  I could get lucky, but I doubt it.

As far as my new goals go:  I did housework yesterday, but no real exercise.  I didn’t get to Walk It Out.  With the headache, things aren’t looking good for today.  I had 3 bottles (7.5 cups) of water yesterday.  I did manage to do grocery shopping without buying any Cadbury Eggs, so there’s a plus in there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

