Posted by: wildflowerz | April 18, 2011

She blinded me with science. “She blinded me with science!” And hit me with technology.

Please excuse me while I brag on my kid again.  She’s awesome.

Every quarter they do a test to evaluate their reading levels.  We just got the report for the 3rd quarter.  Em was at a 2.0 IRL (I think that’s Individualized Reading Level) at the beginning of the year.  She’s now at a 4.2!  Her Grade Equivalent is 4.7…that’s comparable to a 4th grader in her 7th month of school.  She’s in the 99th percentile for reading.  Her Estimated Oral Reading Fluency is 142, but I have no idea how that compares to anything.  Her Zone of Proximal Development is 3.3-5.2.  This is for Accelerated Reader tests.  She should be reading books that are 3.3 (3rd grade) to 5.2 (5th grade) for her AR tests.  As a side note on that, she’s up to 112.8 AR points.  After she hit her 100 points, she’s slowed down quite a bit.  She’s still reading a good bit, but getting her to read something twice in a row and take a test on it is tough.

She’s loving her AIM (gifted) class too.  I’m not sure how much of it is that she finally gets to have a class with one of her BFFs and how much is the class, but whatever it is, she loves it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

