Posted by: wildflowerz | April 28, 2011

iTunes is fucking annoying.

Have I told you how much I hate iTunes?  I fucking hate it.  There was an update recently.  I downloaded it the other day, but hadn’t applied it.  So, I applied it last night.  And it fucks up my iPod.  It made me reset the thing.  RESET it.  And you know how it says it can restore it from a backup?  It LIES!  For some reason, just a few of the apps are in iTunes on my computer.  So, those I got back.  But a lot of them aren’t anywhere.  And some of them I can’t find.  And all the info I had saved in them?  Gone.  The only thing that it saved was my Notes and my Contacts.  FUCK.

So all this is a giant pain in the ass, but it was made worse by how I’ve been handling my iTunes library.  I put stuff on my iPod and then take the files and transfer them to our external drive.  So,  none of the files are actually in my iTunes library on my computer.  And I’ve been working on my library on my iPod for ages, getting it all rated and all the album names and such all good.  Except it’s all gone.  So, I spent yesterday copying stuff from the external into iTunes on Chris’s computer.  Then I used the sharing function to get them on my computer.  That took all day.  Last evening and this morning I went through and made sure all the Genres and Album info and such was all in and correct.  Now I’m copying stuff to my iPod.

See, this is what I’ve always hated about iTunes.  I can rate things on my iPod while I’m listening to it, but that information doesn’t go back into iTunes.  So I’m going to have to create a manual way to keep track of it and it’s SO ANNOYING.

No, I’m not upset at all.

GAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Responses

  1. I tunes regularly pisses me off. My current itunes “situation” is almost as bad as yours. I had sync’d my ipod with my laptop back, you know, when that was all I had because my desktop was awaiting surgery. And I bought new music and it all went into itunes and I added it to my lists and whatnot and all was right with the ipod world. Then I get my desktop back, and I already had transferred a lot of music to it when I first go it, so I went ahead and dumped all the rest of my music onto the desktop and planned to do everything from there. Being the idiot I am I even removed all music from my laptop (which only plays sound if you have USB headphones so basically useless for anything sound) and uninstalled itunes (as part of my getting back needed HD space to make it run WoW and generally run better. I go to what I will call “sync” my new music with my old music. Sounds easy enough right? Yeah somehow it added all of the music (and I mean ALL of the music). And what was on it before now has the dreaded “!” of doom next to it. And my playlists? They won’t import even though I exported them like itunes told me now. So? Not only do I have to trash the whole library and spend like half a day for it to reload, I have to completely redo all my playlists. Which doesn’t sound like a big deal but I try to keep the kid music separate from my alone music, so you know… I don’t have Eminem come on right after the Imagination Movers… or have some Yo Gabba song blast me when I listening to my shit way too loud whenever I am actually alone in the car. What that means now is (until I do the above mentioned hell) that everything I have bought in the last like 4 months I can’t put onto my ipod and that makes me a little stabby.

    I keep ignoring the itunes update that keeps popping up. Now after reading your post I may avoid it for a while longer. LOL

  2. I have a whole system with my star ratings that lets me keep the kid music from coming up in my auto playlists. 5 stars I love. 4 stars I like. 3 stars is kid music that I don’t want to have to hear unless Em’s in the car. 2 stars means there’s something wrong with the file and I need to find another copy. 1 star means it’s new and I need to listen to it and rate it. No stars means it fucking sucks and I need to take it off my iPod and never listen to it again or my ears bleed. 😄

    All my playlists were gone too. I’m having to redo them. I have the obligatory 5 star, 4-5 star, and 1 star “to rate” lists. Then, I have an Emily list, a Favorite List, an Exercise List, a Slow/Mellow songs list, and a list of shit I wouldn’t be embarrassed to have play when people who aren’t Chris or Em are in the car. /lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

