Posted by: wildflowerz | May 24, 2011

Now that I’ve lost everything to you, you say you wanna start something new and it’s breakin’ my heart you’re leavin’. Baby, I’m grievin’.

Okay, so now that I’m over that bitch session from yesterday…  Well, mostly.  🙂

I went to the mall yesterday morning.  I had a 50% off coupon for 1 book at Borders (Waldenbooks), so I went to get that.  Only I had an awful time finding anything I wanted.  I have a giant list of books I want to read and I had it with me.  I must have looked at 20 of my top picks and they didn’t have any of them.  And most of them are top selling new releases.  They suck.  I ended up picking up one I’d gotten at the library but wanted my own copy of.  After that, I stopped by the Disney store.  I know, it’s a bad idea.  I have a hard time controlling myself in there.  They had a super cute Minnie Mouse swimsuit on sale, but I didn’t get it.  They also finally got some Rapunzel shirts.  AND beach towels were on sale.  I was so proud that I didn’t get anything that I called Chris and made him congratulate me.  🙂

I came home and spent about half an hour waiting for Em.  I’d planned on taking her to the library to sign up for the summer reading club and then to Target.  She got off the bus whining about dumb stuff.  I finally got her calmed down and we went.  She got 2 super cute new swimsuits.  I hadn’t thought she’d need any more, but the one I’d gotten her back before Disney was too big.  Odd ’cause she wore it there.  Anyway, I got her one, but she couldn’t decide between the 2 so she used her money to buy the other one.  I also got her a new set of flippers.  Her’s were broken from asshat kids at the pool abusing them and she’d lost the goggles that went with them somewhere along the way.  She also wanted a new pool toy, so she got a swimmy Barbie mermaid thing.  They also had jeans on sale for only $5 each, so I got her a pair.  I’ll probably go back for some more, but I wanted to make sure they fit and we were already both tired of the fitting room when I found them.  All the jeans she had this year were Old Navy.  Target’s jeans are much thinner, so I’m not sure if they’ll be great for her.

We went to the pool this weekend.  Twice.  Sunday was a LOT of fun.  Both her best friends showed up.  The water was also tolerable, though very cool.  Saturday the water was frigid!  I didn’t get in past my knees on Saturday!  Em’s already asked if we can go today after school if it’s warm enough.  I think it probably will be, so that’s what we should be doing today.

Em’s having nothing but fun this last week of school.  Well, Friday she probably won’t like.  🙂  Yesterday was book and game day.  Today is an autograph party for their yearbooks.  Tomorrow they’ve got their play at 8:30am.  After that, they’ve got Honors Day, then a party in their classroom.  Her best friend’s coming home with her after the party and they’re gonna play, play, play.  Thursday is Bubbles and Art Supples day.  I picked up some colored bubbles for she and her friend.  Friday they get to clean up the classroom!  😛  I’m sure they’ll be a lot of playing too, but yeah.  After that, we’re out for the summer.

Responses

  1. Speaking of books, Have you read Ship Breaker yet? I just finished it a minute ago and it was fantastic. Felt the need to immediately go tell someone to go read it. It was on Ally’s summer reading list. I love it when her reading list comes out. Sadly, there were only 2 on there I hadn’t read this year.

    • Hadn’t even heard of it. It’s by Paolo Bacigalupi? I put it on hold at the library. I’m reading The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer now. It’s pretty good. It reminds me a lot of Never Let Me Go crossed with Naughts & Crosses. I recommend both of those. And NLMG is WAY better than the movie, of course. I just finished reading the 3rd of that Last Survivors series you recommended. Good, but talk about depressing!

      From stuff I’ve read lately, I can recommend Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi, Nefertiti by Michelle Moran, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot, The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi, and anything by Kate Morton. Got any more recommendations for me? I LOVE getting them. 🙂

  2. I’ve read House of Scorpion and NLMG. Never heard of Naughts and Crosses. Thanks for the other recommendations. The other book I mentioned on FB “The absolutely true story of a part-time Indian” was also amazing. A very quick read though. I finished it practically in a sitting. Such a fresh writing style and finally a YA novel from a different perspective. I also liked Matched.

    I just ordered Divergent to take on Vacation with me. Along with Paladin of Souls. I read the first one of that on your recommendation and thought it was pretty good. But I know you said you liked the second one even more. I’ve read a lot of meh books lately. I’m excited to finally read some great ones.

  3. I’d never heard of Divergent and my library doesn’t have it. 😦 Yes, Paladin was definitely better. I have the 3rd, but I still haven’t gotten to it yet. I’ve heard her SF series is really good too. It’s also pretty long. I’ve read some blah stuff lately too. I seem to be stuck in the JD Robb series. They’re all so much the same, but I’m far enough in that I don’t want to quit.


Leave a Reply

Categories

