Posted by: wildflowerz | May 27, 2011

You’re on your knees, beggin’ please ‘stay with me.’ But honestly, I just need to be a little crazy.

Today, I’m doing nothing.  I’m enjoying my last quiet day alone in our house.  This afternoon, a 7yo ball of energy will be with me constantly for the next 2 months.  So, quiet today. 🙂

We went to the events at Em’s school on Wednesday.  First, they had their play in the lunch room.  Em’s class and another class did one together.  It was cute.  They were dressed mostly as cowboys and cowgirls.  They sang cowboy-ish songs and told TONS of jokes.  It was really cute.  Afterwards we went to their classroom and did awards.  Ever kid got an award.  Em got the Star Reader award.  She ended up with 130 AR points for the entire year.  I think the next closest kid to her in her class had 80-something.  I’m so proud of her!  She also got her certificate saying that she finished the 1st grade.  And she got a ticket to Six Flags that she earned by reading 6 hours earlier in the year.  After the honors stuff, they changed into their luau clothes and we did the party.  They ate and then went outside for some games.  Later they came back in and did 2 cute crafts.  They used those foam shapes to decorate a picture frame and a coozie (no clue how you spell that, obvs).  After that, I checked out Em and her best friend.  We met Chris at Wendy’s.  After that, we headed home and got ready to go to the pool.  We were at the pool for about 3 hours and had the place mostly to ourselves.  They had tons of fun.  We came back and they played for a while.  All in all, a good day.

Yesterday they had their Economics day.  It was cute.  For the past month, they’ve been earning credits for good behavior.  Then they got to to go around to all the “shops” to spend their credits.  Each of the 1st grade classrooms was a different shop.  Em’s class was a beauty parlor.  There was also a dance club, a fitness place, an ice cream parlor…I can’t remember what else.  If you ran out of money, you could go to the library because it was free.  She had great fun.

My only plan today is to head to the library.  I’ve got a bunch of books that came in.  Other than that, nothing.  It’s a bit stormy and such outside today, so we won’t be doing the pool either.  Tomorrow they’re having a party at the pool.  Ug is all I can say about that.  I hate it when it’s so awful and crowded.  They’re doing free food and stuff.  We might go.  I guess we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

Categories

