Posted by: wildflowerz | May 31, 2011

Cold and frosty morning, there’s not a lot to say about the things caught in my mind. And as the day was dawning my plane flew away with all the things caught in my mind.

Day 1 of Summer Vacation is a success so far. 🙂  So, you remember my plan?  This week the topic is Evolution.  Yesterday, we watched the Bill Nye on Evolution. We also did a bit of her Sylvan 2nd grade math workbook.  She went quite a while and did a bunch of pages!  I also read to her A Log’s Life by Wendy Pfeffer and How Whales Walked Into the Sea by Faith McNulty.  The first one was a bit below her level, but not too much.  The second was just on her level.  I also got Big Bang, The Story of the Universe by Nigel Henbest.  I think it might be a little too dense for her, but we’ll give it a shot.  I have another one on hold from the library, but it’s taking ages to get here, so we’re still waiting.

Anyway, today we got up and had breakfast while relaxing to an episode of Doctor Who.  My little Whovian is LOVING them and it makes me so proud!  🙂  Anyway, after that, we did some of her math workbook.  I think this workbook’s a good one.  It’s got a mix that, for her, is just the right mix of easy stuff (so she doesn’t get discouraged) and tougher stuff (so she’s learning and/or practicing and getting better.  Now we’re watching the Bill Nye on archaeology while she cross-stitches.  Afterwards, we plan on going to the pool for a few hours and doing lunch there.  Her two best friends aren’t going to be there today, so we’ll see how that goes.  Later, I hope to get in another Bill Nye and start the other book.

For the rest of the week, we’ve got more of the same with Bill and math.  We’ve got a Weather Station to do as a science project.  And she’s got a Dino Digging Kit for the craftier things.  After I was looking over my plan, I realized the dino thing wasn’t really crafty, but I had put it up with her crafts.  Oh well.  🙂

Tonight, one of Em’s friends is coming for a sleepover.  We’re dong pizza for dinner.  I’m putting up her tent in her bedroom and putting in the sleeping bags and such for them to sleep in tonight.  We’re also doing S’Mores after dinner.

Let’s see…what else?  I got the first Allie Finkle book for Em from the library.  She LOVED it.  She’s asked for the next one several times.  It’s on hold at the library, but it’s in transit right now.

Our long weekend was good.  We went to see the new Pirates movie on Saturday.  It was alright.  We went to the pool later in the day (I think…the weekend’s all run together).  Sunday we went to the pool in the afternoon and met a bunch of her friends there.  Monday we went to see Kung Fu Panda 2 and then to the pool again, where here friends were again. 🙂  The Pirates movie was okay.  I think it was better than the last one, but I don’t really want to see it again.  Kung Fu Panda 2 was okay too, but I didn’t love it.  Also, there will be a 3rd one.  Oh, then we cooked out last night.  Yum…steaks!

My mom’s coming to get Em on Friday and is keeping her until the next Wednesday or Thursday.  I think Chris and I are going to take advantage and go see the new XMen movie and probably Bridesmaids.  I suggested Hangover 2, but he says it’s been getting awful reviews.  And it looks exactly like the first one.  I’ll still see it I’m sure (so Michele if you wanna go, lmk!).

Leave a Reply

Categories

