Posted by: wildflowerz | July 26, 2011

I spend a lot on all the clothes that I got ’cause all the geeks that I meet, they all look cooler than me. What to do when they’re all looking at you ’cause you’re the freak of the week, ’cause you’re on the TV.

Guess what’s in 37 days?  That would be Dragon*Con!  I’ve been going for a while.  The very first one I went to was the last year it was 4th of July weekend.  Since then, I’ve only missed 1 and that was when Em was about 7 months old.  It’s changed a LOT since then.  They’ve gone from the 2 hotels to 5 now.  The lines are long and annoying and it’s SUPER crowded. 😦  I don’t remember much about my first year.  We only went for a little bit ’cause we had a family thing to do for the 4th.  I do remember that I wasn’t INTO much of anything there, but it seemed really cool and vowed to pick some stuff to get into by the next year.  I took the program and looked at what was offered.  I picked the vampire duo of Buffy and Anita Blake to start out with and I was off.  Since then, I watch and read mostly genre stuff.  If it’s got a hint of fantasy or SF about it, I’ll give it a shot.  So, I’m pretty happy about Dragon*Con.  This year, I’m looking very much forward to:

  • Wil Wheaton – He NEVER does D*C because there’s another con the same weekend, but it moved this year, so we get him.  Yay!!
  • Gareth David Lloyd – He came a couple of years ago, so I’ve seen him before, but he’s a super cutie who appears on my Top 5 list from time to time.
  • Carrie Fisher – Carrie.  Freaking.  Fisher.
  • Mark Sheppard – He’s come quite a few times, but I just love him.  I could listen to him talk all day.
  • Nana Visitor – I watched all of DS9 (as well as Classic and TNG) this year an she was one of my favorites on Ds9.
  • Meaghan Rath, Sam Witwer, & Sam Huntington – I wasn’t too sure about the remake of a show that’s still on the air at first, but I got into it and these are the 3 main players.
  • Felicia Day – I saw her a few years ago, but she’s just so darn cute and geeky.
  • Tom Felton – I’ve also seen him before, but he’s a real sweetie too.  So not like his character.
  • Michael Rosenbaum – Ditto with seeing him before, but he was my surprise favorite the last time he came.  Lex was always my favorite and I liked the show, but overall, I didn’t have any strong feelings.  But Rosenbaum was so freaking funny, I went to see him twice!
  • Mischa Collins – I don’t watch his show anymore, but he’s just adorable.
  • Aaron Douglas – Still love him, but he’s not been anything on my radar lately.
  • Jonathan Coulton – “All we wanna do is eat your brains…”
And some others I might see if I can fit them in:  Adam Baldwin (Firefly, Chuck), Julie Benz (Buffy/Angel, Dexter), Colin Ferguson (Eureka), Tricia Helfer (BSG), Michael Hogan (BSG), Kate Mulgrew (Voyager), Tahmoh Penikett (BSG, Dollhouse), William Shatner (Duh), Robin Thorson (The Guild), Amy Okuda (The Guild), Laura Vandervoort (Smallville, V), Kristin Bauer (True Blood), Chris Gauthier (Eureka), Joel Gretsch (The 4400, V), Leonard Nimoy (Duh), Jim Beaver (Supernatural), Nicholas Brendon (Buffy), Jordan Hinson (Eureka), Clare Kramer (Buffy), Christopher Lloyd (Duh), Joe Manganiello (True Blood), Mary McDonnell (BSG), Mercedes McNab (Buffy/Angel), Jim Parrack (True Blood), Brent Spiner (TNG), Diana Gabaldon (Outlander series), Charlaine Harris (Sookie Stackhouse), AJ Hartley (The Mask of Arteus, On the Fifth Day, etc), The Last Dance, & Lea Thompson (Back to the Future, etc).
So, yeah.  Very excited.  Em’s going to my mom’s again for the weekend while we’re there.  We plan on driving back and forth again this year.  Hotels rooms are hard to come by AND it’s a high and unneeded expense for us.
Leave a Reply

Categories

