Posted by: wildflowerz | August 14, 2011

104 days of summer vacation….

I just spent a little while looking up the whole Charter School hoo-ha and ended up more confused than ever.  The overwhelming things I saw complained about was from some self-stylized uber conservatives making complaints about stuff I’ve seen self-stylized liberals complaining about, but pretending that conservatives and liberals are on completely opposite sides of the fence on the issue.  Do not understand.  And most of what I’ve seen is that the state Republican politicians are all fighting FOR the charter schools, but all I’m hearing from actual Republican constituents is that charter schools are a horrible thing and they’re all against it, all the while laying their politics on the table as why they don’t want them.  On the highest level, though, you’ve got both Clinton and Dubya who were FOR them.  So, yeah.

I’ve no idea.  To be honest, when I first heard that we may or may not get one at the end of the school last year, I didn’t pay too much attention.  We like our school and weren’t looking for a change.  However, they scrambled so much, that the charter school (which is just down the road from us) isn’t opening  until 2 weeks after regular school.  (That would be this coming Monday.)  Evidently, the parents who were sending their kids to the charter school, still went ahead and sent them to regular public school for the first two weeks.  Honestly, with all the uncertainty over the charter deal, I can’t really blame them.  I don’t know.  I hear Em’s losing 2 kids from her class, but I heard it from the mom of one of Em’s friends.  Who evidently heard it from her 7yo daughter and her friend, who’s in Em’s class.  I don’t know about y’all, but I’ve gotten weird information from my 7yo before, so I’ll believe it when I see it.  Btw, Em didn’t know much about it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

