Posted by: wildflowerz | August 22, 2011

Her white blank page & a swelling rage, rage. You did not think when you sent me to the brink, the brink.

So my kid isn’t a great speller.  She’s not bad, but it’s definitely not her strong point.  Last year and this year, they do a pretest at the beginning of the week on their spelling words.  If they miss more than 1, they do that easier list for the week.  If not, they do the harder list.  Em’s been on the harder list maybe 3 times.  It’s just not her thing.  She’s able to study the regular list and usually gets 100%.  This week, they’re going back and reviewing the first grade words…the really easy ones like:  an, or, the, they, etc.  So, I just quizzed Em on them and she did great except for one.  How the hell does she not know how to spell “the?”  Gah!

Em and her friends have made a little club.  Their purpose is just to play together at recess.  Other than that, it’s all secret and hush-hush.  Last week she wouldn’t even tell me what the club’s name was.  Today she comes home to tell me that they’ve changed the name of their club and it’s not a secret, just what they do is.  So, are you ready for this?  The old name is “Selena’s Favorite Fairies Hate Justin Bieber.”  One of her friends likes Beiber, so she gets to be Selena.  /giggle  The new name of their club is just Pop Stars.  How cute are they?

I’m not too sure about this new bus driver either.  I’ve not heard one good thing about her from kids, parents, fellow bus drivers…  Now my kid, who never gets in trouble, evidently got in trouble on the bus last week.  She and her two best friends aren’t allowed to sit together for a week because the driver said they were yelling.  I don’t doubt that they were, though Em selectively can’t remember it.  Oh well.

Em’s up past 31 AR points.  And this is with slowing down.  Her goal for the first month was 25.4.  And she’s still got 7 more days!

I’ve been perusing the Dragon*Con iPhone app today and putting together a schedule for myself.  It’s harder than I thought it was gonna be.  I was hoping to see Felicia Day and Wil Wheaton at the same panel, but they aren’t doing any Eureka OR Guild panels together.  Suck.  Especially since their characters interact so much on Eureka.  I’m not sure if I’m gonna get Nana Visitor in either.  The only time slot I’ve got for her is on the Torchwood panel, but I’d rather see her talk about DS9.  Especially since right now, she’s only had a teensy party in TW.  Is it sad the after looking through the one panel that was a MUST DO was the one on Neville?  Yeah.  I wanted to do a lot more on the SkepTrack too, but it’s not working out too well for that.  Though I did manage to get in the one panel on The IT Crowd.  “Did you try turning it off and back on again?”  Oh well, once the official grid comes out, I’ll get my stuff down for sure and then I’ll post it.  I’m sure you’re all DYING of curiously.  /blink

Tonight I’m going with a friend to see Fright Night.  I can’t wait!  Have you seen David Tennant in the ads?  Yummy!

Responses

  1. i really AM excited to see what you are doing at DC! 🙂 I can’t wait!! Also? I am a LOUSY speller (as a kid anyway) so I sympathize with Em (or should I say, Miss Pop Star?) 🙂

    • I’m such a dork that I went though the App and made a list even though I’ll probably still start all over when the grid comes out. 😛

      Yeah, she’s okay when she studies them, but impromptu spelling is NOT her thing. Oh well. You can’t be good at everything.


Leave a Reply

Categories

