Posted by: wildflowerz | September 5, 2011

Dragon*Con 2011 – Friday

Hi kids!  It’s Monday and I feel like I’ve been beat up.  This was a trying weekend and Chris and I are skipping Monday, which we normally do about 1/2 the time.  So, I’m gonna at least start my update today.  So, Friday!

We got there around 9:30 and I went ahead to the blood drive to see if by chance they started early.  They didn’t, but I didn’t have much else going on, so I just waited.  Some older lady sat next to me for 20 of the 30 minutes I had to wait.  She wanted to discuss aliens invading the Con.  She said she was waiting for the blood drive too, but after 20 minutes, she said, “Well, I’ve gotta be somewhere” and left.  Hrm, yeah.  So I ended up being the first to give blood that day.  It wasn’t bad and took about 30 minutes.  After that, I headed to the Young Adult track room next to the blood drive to see the second half of:

10am – Coming Soon:  Books You’re Gonna Love – This was basically a slide show of book covers and a real quick blurb on each book.  I only got there for the second half, so I missed the handout, but I made a list.  They said they’d eventually put the list up on the website.  It’s not there yet, but check the link in a few weeks and it might be.

11:30am – True Blood – This one was with Charlaine Harris, Kristin Bauer van Straten, Joe Manganiello, and Jim Parrack.  I thought Denis O’Hare was supposed to be there too, but evidently not.  I don’t even know if he ended up getting there for the weekend.  This was a pretty good panel.  Manganiello was smokin’ hot.  Parrack was too cute, but needed to shave the ‘stache.  It was funny to hear his accent after Hoyt’s twangy one.  Bauer was as cool as last time and Charlaine Harris is just too cute.  She just seems like she feels like she’s just lucky to be there.

1pm – SyFy’s Being Human – This was with Meaghan Rath and Sam Huntington.  Sam Witwer didn’t get there in time.  I left the TB panel and got in the short line for BH.  It was outside, but in the shade and not hot at all.  That will probably be the last time I’ll say THAT!  Huntington was super funny.  He was actually my least favorite on the show.  I think that might be because I love his Brit counter-part so incredibly much (Russell Tovey).  But he was great.  I knew when I saw him that I recognized him, but I wasn’t sure from where.  Usually I look that stuff up, but I didn’t this time.  Found out it’s from Fanboys that I knew him!  Anyway, they were incredibly fun.

2:30pm – Shopping – I didn’t have anything for 2:30, so I went down to the Exhibit Halls and Dealer room.  I found a SUPER cute pendant and earrings that I loved.  They’re pink background and have the Deathly Hallows symbols on them.  I love them. 🙂  I also found two super cute bottle cap necklaces for Em.  One’s got the Gryffindor symbol and one’s got Hermione.  I wasn’t able to find much of anything else I wanted to buy.  This will continue to be a trend through the end of the weekend.

4pm – Voyager – 70,000 Light Years Away – After shopping, I walked over to the Sheraton to see about the Voyager line.  It was already outside, so I waited inside for a bit to cool down.  I wasn’t feeling good at all, so I wasn’t sure if I could make it.  I went ahead and went outside and got in line.  The line wasn’t too bad.  I only stood there for 15 or so minutes and I ended up in the shade.  It was still super hot, but not as awful as it could have been.  The panel had Kate Mulgrew, Robert Duncan McNeill, and Garrett Wang.  It was actually quite fun.  They all seemed to be having the best time up there.

5:30pm – The Hunger Games – This was back in the Young Adult track room.  It was just a general discussion on the series.  By the time I got there, the room was full, but luckily Chris had gotten there earlier and saved me a seat.  I wasn’t feeling well at all by the time we got there.  About 45 minutes in, I had to go out in the hall.  I’m not sure what the deal was.  I had cooled down by that point and it wasn’t hot in there, but I had to go outside and sit down in the hall.  I was getting tunnel vision and had a hard time trying to keep from passing out.  For reals.  Luckily I’d put a wet washcloth (for the heat) in my bag and I stuck that on the back of my neck.  I ate a granola bar and started to feel better by the time Chris left the room.  Chris also picked up a list of recommended YA Dystopian books.  It will probably also be linked on the YA website, but I might add them in here later.

7pm – Pacific Rim – This is the restaurant we ate at 2 years ago and I had the worst meal.  I didn’t go when they went last year.  I hadn’t planned to go this year, but we didn’t have anything planned for the 7pm hour, so I went.  Plus, I like my friends, it’s just the restaurant I didn’t care for.  So, we get there and about half our group was there, sitting outside.  Turns out the power had been out since noon.  They were still serving all but raw sushi.  So, I’m feeling better but not great.  What I wanted was some food quickly and some air conditioning.  Unfortunately, neither one was to be had.  I ended up on the end of the table again, but I guess since I felt so bad, it wasn’t that big of a thing.  By the end of the night, I was so hot and staring off into space that I’m sure I was shit company.  The power came on about half way through and, if you can believe it, it just got hotter and hotter.  Our food took forever to come, meanwhile I’m just feeling worse and worse.  The app finally got there and I gobbled it down.  It was pretty tasty.  I got some kind of ribs for my main dish.  I tried to eat like a civilized person with fork and knife, but it just wasn’t happening.  I was so hungry, I didn’t really care.  The ribs were okay, but nothing stellar.  By the time we’d finally gotten our check, we’d missed the 8:30 panel I really wanted to go to, so we bailed and went home.

TL; DR version:  The guest panels were awesome, the fan panels were okay, the dinner was a disaster, and giving blood did NOT agree with me this year.

Responses

  1. Thanks for Giving the gift of life at the Blood Drive!


Leave a Reply

Categories

