Posted by: wildflowerz | September 5, 2011

Dragon*Con YA Recommendations

Directly from the YA track, so thank them.

From Coming Soon on Friday at 10am.  Check their website later and you should get the full list.  I came in half way through.  Also, I didn’t write down ones that didn’t sound good to me.  And if the new one was part of a series I hadn’t read, I only wrote down the first one.  AND if I read it I didn’t write it down.  TL;  DR:  Check the website later.

  • The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kate
  • The Iron Thorn by Caitlin Kittredge
  • Legacies by Mercedes Lackey and Rosemary Edghill
  • A Tale of Two Castles by Gail Carson Levine
  • Huntress by Melinda Lo
  • Beyonders:  A World Without Heroes by Brandon Mull
  • Ashfall by Mike Mullin
  • The Floating Islands by Rachel Neumeier
  • The False Princess by Eilis O’Neal
  • This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel
  • Dark Mirror by M. J. Putney
  • Fever Crumb by Philip Reeve
  • Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan
  • Memento Nora by Angie Smibert
  • The Silver Bowl by Diane Stanley
  • The Comet’s Curse by Dom Testa
  • Numbers by Rachel Ward
  • Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
  • Down the Mysterly River by Bill Willingham
  • Thirteenth Child by Patricia C. Wrede
  • The Monstrumologist by Rich Yancy
  • Snow in Summer by Jane Yolen
Dystopian YA
  • Enclave by Ann Aguirre
  • Candor by Pam Bachorz
  • Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi (I tried this one and couldn’t get into it)
  • Pure by Julianna Baggott
  • Dark Secrets by Elizabeth Chandler
  • Matched by Ally Condie (loved it)
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • Wither by Lauren DeStefano
  • Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
  • The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau
  • The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer (loved it)
  • Incarceron by Catherine Fisher (weird but good)
  • Black Hole Sun by David Macinnis Gill
  • Flux by Beth Goobie
  • Gone by Michael Grant
  • Feed by Mira Grant
  • Found by Margaret Peterson Haddix
  • The Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines
  • The Line by Teri Hall
  • Possession by Elana Johnson
  • Awaken by Katie Kacvindky
  • XVI by Julia Kar
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry (excellent, but the follow up is strange)
  • Legend by Marie Lu
  • The Declaration by Gemma Malley
  • Bumped by Megan McCafferty
  • Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien
  • The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson
  • The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer (excellent)
  • Fever Crumb by Philip Reeve
  • Across the Universe by Beth Revis (very good)
  • Divergent by Veronica Roth
  • Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan
  • The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
  • Unwind by Neil Shusterman
  • Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder
  • The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher
  • Battle Royale by Koushun Takami
  • Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari
  • Skinned by Robin Wasserman
  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (LOVED this series)
There ya go. 🙂
Responses

  1. Oh…I’m SO typing Google now.

  2. Here’s my input. I’ve read a lot of these! I loved Ship Breaker! But you are the second person I talked to who couldn’t get into it. I loved Matched too. Can’t wait for the next one in that series. Maze Runner was OK but I wasn’t interested enough to continue the series. City of Ember was good but really more middle grade fiction than young adult. Em could probably read it. Little Brother was excellent. Incarceron was very good, but I haven’t read the next one yet, have you? Feed was okaaay. Adoration of Jenna Fox was excellent. I haven’t read The Dead and The Gone but I read the book before it, Life as we Knew It and I thought that was great. Love Lois Lowry, all 3 books in that series. The Forest of Hands and Teeth I couldn’t even finish because the writing was so poor (but it’s about Zombies if that’s your thing). Uglies was fun and Divergent was awesome. Highly recommend it.

    The Girl in the Arena was on my short list so I’ll probably read that next. LOVE book recommendations so thanks for this post!

    • You’re the one that recommended Ship Breaker to me, but it just wasn’t for me! We actually have the City of Ember movie home from Netflix right now. I ended up reading all 3 of those Life as We Knew It books. The first was about a girl, the second about a boy, the third was them together. My library finally got Divergent, so I’m on the list for it. I was surprised at how many my library had of these, so I’ve got a HUGE list now. 😄


Leave a Reply

Categories

