Posted by: wildflowerz | October 2, 2011

I met him in a swamp down in Dagobah, where it bubbles all the time like a giant carbonated soda. S-O-D-A, soda.

So, first off, I’m on day 3 of Weight Watchers.  It’s going pretty well, so far.  Friday, I had breakfast with a friend out, but I don’t think I did too badly.  I had a lighter lunch because Chris always gets dinner from Wendy’s on Friday (Em’s favorite).  So, for dinner I reverted back to my “diet” meal of grilled chicken sandwich and small chili.  Chris “forgot” and got me a Frosty too, but I didn’t eat it.  In fact, I’m pretty sure it’s still in the freezer.  Yesterday was a bit of a challenge.  I went back to the egg mug and pb toast for breakfast before Em’s soccer game.  For lunch, we went out for Mexican.  Dinner was at this new pizza (think more upscale than that sounds) place.  I ended up right on target for points both days.

I’m not doing great on the milk and fruit and veg servings, but I wasn’t particularly focused on those yet.  I’ve gotten water in and I’m remembering the vitamin again.  Today I’m going to make a plan for next week and for my grocery trip on Monday.  Also I’m going to start walking with a friend tomorrow.  I went ahead and tracked my steps yesterday and it was a sad little 4535, so I’ve definitely got room for improvement there.

Em before leaving for the show.

Last night, we went to see Weird Al at the Cobb Energy Center.  We had a bit of trouble getting there.  The road signs were conflicting and annoying.  We finally got there and that venue is pretty tiny.  It felt smaller than the Fox even!  But it’s new and nice so that’s good.  The merch line was INSANE, so we skipped it and went on in.  There were a gazillion costume changes, as usual.  He did a lot of our favorite songs, including White & Nerdy, The Saga Begins, Yoda, Amish Paradise, Eat It, Perform This Way, Polka Face, and Smells Like Nirvana.  The only ones I missed were Pretty Fly for a Rabbi and It’s All About the Pentiums (why yes, Running with Scissors IS my favorite album).  Everything but the 2 SW songs was before the “ending” and those two, and this weird vocal thing that was really cool, were the encore.  The Saga Begins was the first encore thing and the band and Al came out dressed as Jedi, with a ton of the 501st, Boba Fett, and Darth Vader behind him, as well as an R2D2 that randomly wandered one side of the stage.  The storm troopers danced.  It was awesome.  Let’s see, for White & Nerdy, he came out on a Segway.  Amish Paradise was (duh) the big beard and Amish clothes.  Perform This Way was as a big butterfly (I think…my memory’s going!).  Smells Like Nirvana was Kurt Cobain.  Anyway, Em sat with her head on my shoulder the entire time didn’t seem terribly excited until The Saga Begins, which she sang along to.  She also loved the weird vocal thing during Yoda.  At the end, she said that she liked it, but she doesn’t want to go to another concert unless it’s much earlier in the day and not quite so loud.  /lol  Yeah.  About that Em…  She was very good, though, and didn’t complain or anything.  I’m sure it would be better if it were Selena Gomez, Ashley Tisdale, or someone that she knew a lot of the songs for!  Of course, I looked at the tickets for when Selena last came though a few months ago and Em won’t be going to that show any time soon!

Today we’re plan-less.  We might go to the park or something, but that’s about it.

Responses

  1. Weird Al? I am beyond jealous. And Em is ADORABLE!

  2. You have to drink milk for WW? FWIW, I drink Light Vanilla Soymilk (Silk is good, Kroger brand is also good and cheaper) and its so easy on my stomach. I hate cow milk but I can drink that stuff all day long and I make protein shakes with it and its good. It has a decent shelf life in the fridge, and its great with cereal, but you can’t really use it in any milk-requiring recipes.

    Also, get these http://amzn.com/B001ET5XAS for Em. Several of my frequent concert going friends swear by these for kiddos. Also good for fireworks or anything else loud that hurt sensitive ears. Check on the sizing, there is a Junior size or something. I just searched for them real quick to give you an idea.

    • You have to have dairy. I’ll be getting that through cheese and yogurt. It’s one of those Healthy Guidelines things along with healthy oil, fruit and veg, water, vitamin, etc. For milk subs, I’ve tried soy and didn’t like it at all (though I’ll give the one you mentioned a shot at some point!). Usually when I do smoothies or protein shakes, I use the unsweetened chocolate Almond Milk.

      We’ll totally do that next time we take Em. Chris dug out some ear plugs (that didn’t work when I was trying to block out his snoring) for Em, but they wouldn’t stay in. Which I get….they wouldn’t stay in my ears either and mine are bigger!

  3. I have yet to try any almond milk, only because I tried the vanilla soy first and loved it so I just stuck with it. Well I get the Light version now because I can’t really tell a difference the way I use it (cereal, protein shakes, etc) and why not shave off a few calories here and there. 🙂 I loooooooove chocolate soymilk, possibly too much… a carton only lives about 2 days around me. Its a little nutty I have to not buy it often. LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

