Posted by: wildflowerz | October 19, 2011

I knew that he was bad. Never knew just what he had. I guess I don’t have a life, but I’ll find one soon in time.

It’s right there in all the information.  It SAYS it’s not an indication of your hygiene.  But how can you help from feeling just nasty and dirty when your kid has to be picked up from school because she’s got little bugs in her hair?  /shudder

Yeah, so we got a letter last week saying that lice was going around school.  I’d checked Em a few times and found nothing, so I didn’t think much more about it.  So when I was coming back from shopping with a friend yesterday and the school nurse called, I was shocked and mortified.  Em fell on the playground yesterday and skinned her knees a little bit.  So while she was in the nurse’s office they checked her and found it.  Ew.  Luckily, a friend of mine went through a huge, awful bout of this last year and still had all her stuff.  So I put this junk on Em’s hair and stuck a shower cap on her.  She had to have it on for 4 hours.  Then we washed her hair with regular shampoo.  Then washed it again with some lice shampoo.  Then we combed her hair out twice before sending her to bed.  All in all, I only found 6-7 bugs.  I didn’t know if that meant there weren’t many or if I just sucked at finding them.

So this morning, I gave her a quick check and couldn’t find anything.  I took her in and the nurse wasn’t there yet, but the vice principal checked her out and found nothing.  She said that Em’s hair always looks really nice and shiny and clean and that lice are attracted to really clean hair.  That hardly seems fair, now does it?  I’m just hoping it doesn’t come back.  We’re going to keep using the shampoo every night and then spray in the preventative stuff for a week or two.  /fingers crossed

Ug, so after that trauma, my earlier part of the day seems silly by comparison!  Yesterday after our walk, I went down to the mall with a friend.  We looked at Sears, JC Penny, Belk, Macy’s, and Torrid.  JC Penny had some uncomfortable pants that were just a couple of inches too long, but that’s about as good as it got.  SO.  FREAKING.  ANNOYED.  In the end, I just came home and ordered 5 pairs of pants and a skirt from Old Navy.  Here’s hoping they fit!  I did manage to find a few things at the Disney store, as usual.  I got a couple of things for Chris for Cmas.  We also went to Joann’s to check on the party price and get some fabric glue.  I ended up with some hair ribbons for Em (funny considering the call I got later) and a few small crafty things for Em’s Cmas stocking.  Look at me getting ahead with stuff!

So other than all that junk, I’m feeling pretty damn crappy.  I’ve got some kind of weird cold that only seems to be in effect in the morning, but it sucks.  My right heel is hurting for no apparent reason.  My house is a giant mess too.

I’m sorry.  This is completely another giant whiny post.  Two in a row?  Gah!

Leave a Reply

Categories

