Posted by: wildflowerz | December 12, 2011

I’m just sitting here watching the wheels go round and round. I really love to watch them roll. No longer riding on the merry-go-round. I just had to let it go.

I should warn you ahead of time that I’m going to bitch.

When did it become okay to leave everything to the last minute?  I mean, I get it.  Your own person crap, you can do whenever you want.  But when you volunteer to do something and other people are depending on you, it’s rude and annoying.

Em’s in Girl Scouts.  On the reminder email for the last meeting (2 weeks ago today) one of her leaders said that this week’s meeting would be moved to the Sunday before and they would be doing caroling for cans in her neighborhood.  She didn’t tell us the time or any other details, just that she’d send out details later.  You know where this is going, don’t you?    For TWO WEEKS we didn’t hear anything.  Then Sunday morning at 1:30am, she sends out an email with the information.  Um, really?  So I emailed her back and said that since we didn’t know if or when it was going to happen, we went ahead and made other plans.  She emails back, saying that she told us two weeks ago all the details.  I emailed back refuting that and she didn’t answer.  It’s just…arg.  This is on the back of them not telling us that they were doing the parade until a week ahead of time when every other troop doing it has known for weeks.  And then surprise!  You’re supposed to have an elf costume.  Except evidently that’s not mandatory, but they neglected to mention that until we told them she couldn’t go.

So, I’m debating on whether to see if I can switch her to another troop mid-year.  IF she does it again next year, there’s no way she’ll be on this troop again.  I’m trying to find something else for her to do, but everything else is so expensive.  I’ve looked into gymnastics and art classes.  I’m gonna look up martial arts classes next, but it will undoubtedly be expensive too.

This keeps happening.  Over and over.  Right now, I’m waiting on Em’s teacher to email me back from when I emailed her on Saturday.  And okay, I realize that she probably doesn’t check that email on the weekend…I wouldn’t either.  Em’s class is doing this project about their holiday traditions.  They have to write 5 sentences about it and then show something: a drawing, a picture, an item, bring cookies…whatever.  Em’s was scheduled for Wednesday and it had been for a while.  Em reminded me on Saturday that she’s got AIM on Wednesdays.  Yes, I should have realized, but the teacher also should have.  I don’t know if they just don’t have AIM this week or what.  So Em may or may not have to do her project tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

