Posted by: wildflowerz | December 26, 2011

We’re gonna press on, and we’re gonna have the hap, hap, happiest Christmas since Bing Crosby tap-danced with Danny fucking Kaye.

/wave  How was everyone’s holiday?  Our’s was awesome.  By the time I finished up baking on Xmas Eve, I was SO FREAKING TIRED.  That offer of Chris to help me never materialized and he was on the computer all day, as usual.  So I was also the tiniest bit peeved.  My parents showed up around 3:30 or 4 and we all hung out until around 5 when we dug into the pizza.  New information:  Marco’s buffalo wings are too spicy for me.  We watched Cars 2 before Em had to take a shower and go to bed.  We put out cookies and milk for Santa and carrots for the reindeer, but I didn’t realize  until I was about to go to bed that we’d totally forgotten to read Twas the Night Before Christmas!  Oh well!  The adults then watched Christmas Vacation (It’s the gift that keeps on giving the whole year ’round.).  We started A Christmas Story and around 8:30 I brought Em’s Santa gifts down and put them together.  I filled her stocking and then we put together the Barbie Malibu House.  Santa also got her a Barbie hair wash thingy and a little kit of makeup.  I went upstairs to read for a bit and then go to sleep.  I could NOT get to sleep.  I think I was more excited than Emily.  It was just like when I was a kid.  It took forever to get to sleep and then once I did, I kept waking up to check the time.  When Em woke us up at 6am, I was instantly awake and ready.  I was just so excited for Em to open her stuff!

We all got up and got the dogs walked.  Em LOVED her Santa gifts.  Then we opened stockings.  I don’t think there was anything too remarkable in them.  It was all good stuff, just small things like we normally do, though.  The big hit was Chris’s 1lb Reese’s PB cup!  After that, my mom made breakfast.  My dad wanted her homemade biscuits and sausage.  So we did breakfast and then commenced with the opening of presents.  We are so totally spoiled. I’m sure I’ll forget stuff, but here’s some highlights.  My mom got a pashmina, White Shoulders, a coupon book (for grocery store couponing), an iPod dock alarm clock, and a tablet computer.  My dad got Carhart jeans and pants, a new button up shirt, and DS games.  Chris got Skyrim, the new Call of Duty, a beardhead (his favorite gift), Best Buy gc, Amazon gc, super special gaming headphones, a Kinect mount for the tv, some light for this computer, 3 books, and some stuff for going to the gym (bag, shorts, water bottle).  I got a Kindle Touch (yay!), a skin for said Kindle, a case for same said Kindle, Harry Potter:  From Page to Screen (and it is a TOME), the rest of the Vorkosigan series, an Amazon GC, several iTunes GCs, Harry Potter Scene It, Just Dance 3 for 360, Zumba for 360, and a Sweaty Band.  Emily got everything.  She got 3 Monster High Dolls, 2 Liv dolls, 2 Liv wigs, a real American Girl doll that looks just like her, 6 outfits for her new doll, 2 games, a microscope, a scooter, a dart tag set, 2 cute tee shirts, a cute new outfit, a pair of PJs, about 20 new books, The Night Bus Lego set, and the new Harry Potter Lego 360 game.

It was SO much fun watching her open all her stuff.  I just love that little girl!  It was a lot of fun shopping for her too.  I went way overboard, but I kept finding stuff I just knew she’d love!  After we opened presents everyone started playing with their own stuff (or I started the lengthy process of extricating Em’s toys from their boxes).  We eventually got dressed and headed over to my Grandmother’s house.

We’d decided on sandwiches and soup for the day and, as usual, had entirely too much food, especially desserty things!  We all ate and then settled down to open gifts.  My aunt was distressed because in the Xmas confusion, she’d forgotten several gifts, that included Chris, Em, and I!  I don’t think it bothered any of us 3 nearly as much as it bothered her!  She ended up just telling Chris and I what she got us, but Emily opted to be surprised when she opened them up eventually.  🙂  I got The Mysteries of Udolpho (Yes, from Northanger Abbey!), Pride & Prejudice on DVD (5 hours of Colin Firth!), and the first two books in Bujold’s Sharing Knife series.  My Grandmother also got me this pretty sweater caftan thing.  Chris got a board game and a computer game that I’ve not heard of and a Polo shirt from my Grandmother.  Em got this super pretty white jacket with faux fur on the hood from my Grandmother.  She’s getting Disney Universe and a book of stuff to do with her Dad in the mail from my Aunt and Uncle.  We all got money in our stockings too, as usual.  We all decided to save it for a trip to Disney in January 2013.

By the time we were left, we were all seriously beat.  I had to dive home and I had a hard time staying awake and the lights from other cars and night were seriously hurting my eyes and making it hard to concentrate.  Chris and Em dozed on the way home.  I ended up reading a bit before bed, but going to sleep around 9pm.  I woke up today with a massive headache.  I held out until after lunch (hoping food and lots of water would cure it), but when it didn’t I took my last Vicodin from my last tooth debaucle.  We watched the Doctor Who Xmas special and then I went upstairs to sleep.  I woke up around 4pm and I feel better, but groggy.  There’s still some slight pressure in my head, but it doesn’t quite hurt.  It feels like it could at any moment, though.

Anyway, that was our Xmas.  We had a good time with family, got tons of stuff that we didn’t need in the least, but loved.  Em declared it the best Christmas ever.  She said there was absolutely nothing that she didn’t get that she wanted.  I think we might try and go see Tintin later in the week and Chris is itching to use the Best Buy gcs, but other than that, we don’t really have any plans.  We should find something cool to do, but I never know what!

Leave a Reply

Categories

