Posted by: wildflowerz | December 29, 2011

Kindle Touch Review

It’s reviewing day for me, evidently!

I got a Kindle Touch for my birthday/Christmas.  It’s this one.  First, let me talk about my understanding of the differences.

-Kindle – $79 – It’s slightly lighter than the next most expensive versions and it holds about half as many books.  The battery life is also about half.  It also has a 5way controller to scroll through stuff and not a keyboard or touch.  It was really that last detail that made me go with the Touch instead.

-Kindle Touch WiFi – $99 with Special Offers – First, the special offers.  This means that when you’re looking at your menu of books, there’s a small ad on the bottom of the screen.  When you turn off your Kindle, it puts an ad on the front screen.  That’s it.  For that, you pay $40 less.  TOTALLY worth it, imho.  The ads aren’t intrusive at all and some are even quite pretty with beach scenes and such.

-Kindle Touch 3G – $149 – The only difference between the Kindle Touch and the 3G version is that obviously the 3G will let you d/l books anywhere and the 3G is slightly heavier.

-Kindle Keyboard & Kindle Keyboard 3G – $139 – When I first looked at these, the Kindle Keyboard was also $99 with special offers.  I’m not sure why it’s now the same as the 3G version, but obvs, you should get the 3G if you want the keyboard.  The Kindle Keyboard is a bit heavier than the Touch (with the Keyboard 3G being slightly heaver than that).  That’s the only difference.

-Kindle DX – $379 – The DX is all 3G and no wifi.  The display is 9.7″ compared to the 6″ of the cheaper Kindles.  The battery life is only 3 weeks compared to the 1 month of the plain Kindle and 2 months of the other cheaper ones.  It also weighs more than twice as much as the Keyboard 3G.  This one also has a keyboard.  I’m not sure why this one’s so expensive or why you’d buy it.  The screen’s bigger, but that’s about the only good thing.

-Kindle Fire – $199 – The Fire is in color.  That’s the main thing with it.  It only operated via wifi, so no 3G.  You can get apps and tv shows and such on it.  It appears to be a small tablet computer.  The screen is 7″ so it’s slightly bigger than the cheaper Kindles.  It’s battery life is only 8 hours.  The storage is twice as much as all the other Kindles (except the cheap one).  It weight twice as much as the touch, but still over 4 oz less than the DX.  It’s also a touch screen.

So.  The storage size wasn’t that important to me.  Even the cheap Kindle will hold 1400 books.  I can’t imagine putting that many on there.  The weight wasn’t that important to me either.  I didn’t care to watch tv shows and stuff on it, so I also didn’t care if it was in color.  I have relatively good eyes, so the screen size wasn’t an issue. And finally I didn’t care if it had 3G or not.  I can’t imagine I’d be somewhere and have a book emergency and NEED to d/l a book RIGHT NOW.  So, that left just the battery life, the price, and interface.  I liked the touch better than the keyboard (or the clunky 5way controller of the cheap Kindle).  I didn’t want a battery life of just hours when I could get months.  So, that really just left the Kindle Touch for me.  I’d heard the special offers weren’t obtrusive, so I opted for that one.

Can I say, I love it!  It took me a while to get on the ebook bandwagon.  I still like hard copy books that I can hold in my hand and look nice on my shelf.  I like that I can loan them out and if I don’t LOVE them when I’m done I can take them to the used book store and get credit for new books.  I’ve only read one book on my Kindle so far, but I loved it a lot.  I like that it’s light and my hands don’t get crampy like when I hold open a paperback.  The only very small thing I didn’t like about the experience is that there were no page numbers.  I like to update that kind of stuff in Goodreads, but I couldn’t find them.  Now, it might be because the book I was reading is only available as an ebook right now, so I don’t know.  Or it could be that I just don’t know how to find the page number.  So, we’ll see.  I do like that since the screen’s so small, it feels like I’m reading faster since I finish a “page” fast.

There is no doubt about it, reading on a Kindle is generally way more expensive.  My library has a few books in their elibrary that I haven’t looked into yet.  The Amazon lending library is totally not a good enough reason to get Prime.  You can only get 1 out a month and their selection is VERY small.  There are quite a few free books…mostly classics…which I’d d/led.  And they have a Daily Deal that’s usually $.99 that i always see if it sounds interesting.  I did hear of a “trick” from my dad.  He said that, starting on Monday, if you go to Amazon and look at the same Kindle book each day for a week, they’ll send you an email, offering it to you for only $.10 on Sunday.  No idea if it will work, but I’ll give it a shot.

Responses

  1. I’ll have to look into that 10 cent thing! They also have a 7 day return policy for e books. I’ve only used it once but I’m sure the occasional quick return for your $ back won’t look bad on your account, speedy reader. 🙂

    • My dad said some guy he works with told him about it. I’m trying it with the new Stephen King as well as Simon Pegg and Chris Hardwick’s books. We’ll see if it works.


Leave a Reply

Categories

