Posted by: wildflowerz | January 1, 2012

Imagine there’s no countries. It isn’t hard to do. Nothing to kill or die for and no religion too. Imagine all the people living life in peace…

Happy New Year everyone!  I hope it’s going fab for you.  It’s pretty boring over here.  After Em valiantly trying to stay up until midnight last year with an impromptu movie marathon of Harry Potter, she gave up just after Chamber of Secrets at 11:30pm.  Of course, that didn’t deter her from getting up at 6:30am this morning.  Luckily, she’s learned how to work the big talky box and was watching Phineas & Ferb when I woke up at 8:30am.  So, there’s that.

Today I decided to try and further the geekification of my nerdlet by showing her Star Trek.  I figured the pretty new one should be a good gateway introduction.  She watched it.  I was so excited.  She didn’t do 3 million different things while she watched like she normally does, so I though she was really enjoying it.  But at the end, when I asked her, she let me down.  She doesn’t like Star Trek!  Oh, the shame!  I’m way more into ST than Chris.  He likes it okay and has watched quite a bit of it over the year.  I powered through ALL of it (except Enterprise, which I hope to get to this year) after the newest movie came out.  Chris is more of a Star Wars person.  Don’t get me wrong…I like SW okay.  But there’s 3 good movies, 3 shitty movies.  And then you’re done.  ST has 28 season and 11 movies!  And there was a short animated series too!  Oh well.  😛

Tomorrow Em’s got a Girl Scout meeting at the local roller skating rink.  They told us about it yesterday.  It’s at noon and evidently we’ll be talking about cookie sales that start Friday.  Oy vey.  If you don’t have a cookie hookup and you want to order some, let us know.  Anyway, after the meeting she might be having a play date with her best friend.  Another friend asked her to spend the night tonight, but we heard about it second hand this morning.  They haven’t called.  It’s a monumentally bad idea since she was up late last night and early this morning and has GS & a play date tomorrow, but she’s not been bratty at all today.  We told her that if they called and asked, she could go, but otherwise we were just gonna forget about it.  It’s almost 3, so I’m thinking no.

I got the invites out for her bday party.  I kept going back and forth on doing a bday party out for her.  It’s just so expensive!  I talked to her best friend about doing a joint bday party.  Her friend’s bday is less than a week before her’s.  Her mom was all for it.  Em was all for it.  Her friend wanted her own party.  Oh well.  So, instead we’re going to do a boring at-home party and she’s invited her two best friends to spend the night.  We’ve already got quite a few affirmatives to the party, so yay.  Em picked out this ginormous Disney Fairy cake at Publix yesterday.  I’m gonna do decorations to match.  Then I hope to do some little gift bags and maybe come up with a simple craft for them to do.  We’ll see, I guess.

Have I mentioned Disney?  We’re hopefully going to go back next January for Em’s bday again.  It will be cool ’cause this time Em will get to help plan it!  Though, there’s really not a whole lot to plan.  I mean, since we go when it’s not that busy, we pick which hotel we want and pick where we’re going to eat.  And we’re done.  Okay, maybe there’s a little more to it than that, but not much really.  And we use a TA who does our food reservations for us, so I don’t even have to sit on hold on the phone forever and do it myself.  Score!  Does anyone know when the next year’s prices come out?  I tried searching the DIS boards, but couldn’t find anything and got annoyed by the vast amount of posts.  That place does generally annoy me.  People ask some of the stupidest, petty questions that no one cares about.  Seriously.

Leave a Reply

Categories

