Posted by: wildflowerz | January 9, 2012

With my big black boots and an old suitcase, I do believe I’ll find myself a new place. I don’t want to be the bad guy. I don’t want do your sleepwalk dance anymore. I just want to see some palm trees. I will try and shake away this disease.

Wow.  I feel pretty damn good about myself right now. 🙂

Today’s my first Couch to 5K day of the week.  I’d originally planned to repeat Week 1, but I got close to the end of the 5 minute warm up and thought I’d go ahead and give Week 2 a try.  If I couldn’t get through it, I’d just do Week 1 again the rest of the week and try again next week.  Well, I did it!  It  was way tougher to me, but I did it!  So, Week 2 is a 5 minutes warmup, followed by 1.5 minutes of running (jogging for me) alternated with 2 minutes of walking.  It’s a total of 9 minutes of jogging, just 1 more than Week 1, followed by a 4 minute cooldown walk.  After that, I walked an extra 15 minutes too. 🙂  So that earned me 6 APs.  Yay me!  Here’s my playlist:

  • I Do – Lisa Loeb
  • Switch – Will Smith
  • Sweet Dreams – Eurythmics
  • Kick Some Ass – Stroke 9
  • Good Girls Gone Bad – Cobra Starship
  • Just Push Play – Aerosmith
  • My First Kiss – 3OH!3
  • Santa Monica – Everclear
  • Beat It – Michael Jackson
  • Poker Face – Lady Gaga
  • Crazy Bitch – Buckcherry
  • Cocaine Blues – Johnny Cash
  • Let’s Go to Vegas – Faith Hill
  • Sleazy – Ke$ha

You know, anyone looking at these playlists would think I only listen to Top 40 crap from the past 10 years.  And while my music tastes probably aren’t terribly sophisticated and tend to lean toward the mainstream, it’s not nearly as bad as these lists would seem.  There’s a lot of pop on here and while I recognize it’s crap, I do like some of it and it’s perfect for exercise.  My regular playlist would have a lot of Adele, Oasis, Kings of Leon, Mumford & Sons, Johnny Cash, Tori Amos, Ben Lee, and Glasvegas along with some random songs by Suede, Nick Cave, Florence + the Machine, Arcade Fire, Foster the People, The Jam, and Lady Antebellum.  (Keeping that in mind, I always like music recs if you’ve got any.)

So, before I ordered all that stuff from Old Navy, I should have gone shopping in my own closet.  I had 2 pairs of jeans (one ON and one LB) and a long, out-dated jean skirt (ON) in my closet that had been JUST a bit too tight for me for a while.  I tried them on yesterday and they fit just fine.  Yay. Well, if the stuff that comes in the mail is good, I might keep a pair. we’ll see.

We’re doing Girl Scout cookie sales here.  It’s meh.  We have so many girls in our neighborhood that are scouts. And I HATE when people come to my own door begging us to buy crap.  Em thinks she should go around to houses, but Chris and I aren’t into it.  She’s up to about 37 boxes right now and her troop’s goal is for each kid to sell 75.  Chris and I will put our’s on in the end, but we’ll probably do about 10 boxes.  I’m evidently the only one in the world that’s not a super fan of GS cookies.  And since Chris can control himself better than I and they stay well in the freezer, we can just do that.  /shrug

Responses

  1. THAT IS SOOOO AWESOME!!! And that, by the way, is how i got addicted to running/exercise back in the day. Not for how you feel doing it, but how you feel after. 🙂

    SO funny that you qualified your play list today of all days, because I have been literallly thinking for weeks I want to copy yours – all the ones you have found actually seem fun to exercise to, and my regular music doesn’t run to “easy to work out to” and while no, these are not the Mecca of Musical Taste, they are all fun and upbeat and not pre-1990 (which is the last time I ever did a mix “tape” (YES TAPE, SHUT UP, INFANT 😉 ) for working out! 🙂 So I think you have a talent for making exercise play lists. 🙂

  2. Oh, and YAY on shopping in own closet. 🙂 ALWAYS an awesome feeling!

    • You know, it’s you who’s always making fun of your age. I rarely think about it and I only say stuff to Chris now and again to tease him. 😛 For the record, I had mix tapes too. You act like I wasn’t born until 1990 or something! 😛

      I don’t think a whole lot about the order of playlists or anything…I know some people do and put slower songs and the ends for warmup and cooldown. I just put a bunch that look like they’d be good to exercise to on a list and go random. If I get a few minutes, I might list out my entire exercise playlist. Usually I stick stuff on there and if it doesn’t work, I take it off. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

