Posted by: wildflowerz | January 20, 2012

Because the drugs never work, they’re gonna give you a smirk ’cause they got methods of keeping you clean. They’re gonna rip up your heads, your aspirations to shreds. Another cog in the murder machine.

Week: 16
Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 218.6
Weekly Loss: 1.2
Total Loss: 20.6
10% Target Loss: 23lbs
Daily Points Allowance: 30
Activity Point Earned Last Week: 0
Weekly Points Used: 5 (out of 49)

Yay me!  So, I had a decent loss this week, I made it past the 20lb mark, AND I got the WW Stay and Succeed award.  Yay!

So I guess now is as good a time as any to assess my plan and results.  My average weight loss is 1.25lbs a week.  A healthy weight loss is from 1-2lbs a week.  So, yay for me!  Would I be happier with 2lb average?  Dur, of course.  But my average loss is right there in the healthy range, so I’m totally happy.  If I have to continue to lose slowly, I’ll still get there eventually.  On the whole, I’m doing pretty well with getting in the Good Health Guidelines.  This past week is the exception.  I can totally stand to do some improving, but on the whole, I’m doing pretty well.  I’m also doing well with staying within my points.  I usually don’t use many of the weekly points and that’s my aim.  I’ve been okay with exercise, but I can definitely do better.  I totally failed on that this week.  I’ve been busy getting ready for Em’s party and just haven’t done any exercise.  I’m not trying to make an excuse….I’m totally admitting to my failure.  I plan to continue back with the Couch to 5K this week and do more Zumba and Just Dance.

There are things that I would like to eventually tackle.  I’d like to cut out the caffeine.  I’d like to lower the amount of artificial sweeteners I eat.  I’d like to eat even more vegetables.  Ditto with water.  I’d like to eventually exercise for an hour a day, at least 5 times a week. However, for now, I want to continue to focus on the minimum stuff.  I want to get consistent with achieving the Good Health Guidelines and exercising 5 days a week.

So there we go.  It’s not exactly concrete, but I feel good about it.

Responses

  1. Yay on all fronts! Can I suggest you try Stevia for your artificial sweetening needs? If you don’t know anything about it (or even if you do!), please check out http://www.sweetleaf.com/about . That, btw, is my brand of choice using both the liquid and packets for my tea and anything else I need to sweeten. (I also use Stevia in the Raw packets that you can find in the baking aisle of most grocery stores, I can find Sweet Leaf products in the organic section of my Kroger and of course, online.). One of my Mom’s sisters has been using it for years and after reading about all the things that the artificial-artificial sweeteners do to your body, I have cut significantly back on non-Stevia sweetening. It takes a while to get used to it, but its definitely worth it. Right now Splenda tastes weird to me (I still use it when I don’t have other options). I haven’t tried the flavored liquids yet but its on my list to try soon, since I think adding a little flavor (without the chemicals) will help up my water intake!

    • I’ve def heard of it, but I don’t use a sweetener like that for much of anything. I mostly meant in processed foods and such (however, it’s in EVERYthing, so I’m not sure how successful I’d be at that!). I think the only thing I use Splenda for is my chili recipe and it’s only a bit. When I’m done with this box of Splenda, I’ll give it a shot though. 🙂

      • Well the best way for me to get away from diet drinks was to switch to drinking teas (green, black, flavored, unflavored). I am a southern girl so anything with tea in the name I feel must be sweetened in some way. Enter Stevia. I used Stevia in the Raw packets at first because I couldn’t find any of the Sweet Leaf items my aunt recommended in my stores (bc I hadn’t looked in the organic sections yet). At first I was like BLEH, and it had a weird aftertaste and I was about to give up when I remembered DUH! all non sugar sweeteners have an aftertaste I had just conditioned myself to overlook them and keep drinking my splenda or my aspartame diet drinks/crystal light. So with that in mind I kept using it and then my aunt was kind enough to give me her SweetLeaf liquid that was about 1/4 full for me to try and I was hooked. I started out having to use WAY more than I do now but then I got used to it and moved onto using more rational amounts. Randomly one day (as I was cutting through the organic section hahaha) I saw it at my Kroger. I will be honest and say, its not a cheap investment BUT the liquid does last a long time. And like I said before, I am going to try to flavored liquid soon to add to my water and hopefully keep me from buying anymore of those fake crystal light packets to get more water in me. I noticed not too long ago that Amazon carries Sweet Leaf products at a better deal, which I will be using to stock up when my current bottle runs out.

    • Weird WP won’t let me “reply” to your last comment.

      You’d never know I’ve lived in GA my entire life because I’m not a tea fan. I’ll drink it if it’s the only option, but I don’t pick it. I’ll have hot green tea every once in a while, but that’s about it. If I’m not drinking sodas, it’s almost all water. I’ll do a fruit punch Crystal Light every now and then, but mostly it’s just water. I’ll have to give it a try though. I’ll be on the lookout. Publix doesn’t have organic sections really…they put it all together….well, each section anyway.


Leave a Reply

Categories

