Posted by: wildflowerz | February 8, 2012

Some things in life are bad. They can really make you mad. Other things just make you swear and curse. When you’re chewing on life’s gristle, don’t grumble, give a whistle. This will help things turn out for the best.

So, some facts:

  • Even with girl pushups, my arms are too weak to support my weight only inches from the ground.  I just can’t do it.
  • If I do exercises where I have to land hard (like jumping jacks), my knees are going to hurt for the next two days.

So given those facts, what would you do?  I suppose the right answer to the pushups is to just keep trying and eventually I’ll get there.  And that’s what I did.  But what about the jumping?  If I did them today, I wouldn’t be able to exercise tomorrow.  OR if I did, I’d be in so much pain, I’d be crying through it tomorrow and honestly, I’m more likely to skip it if that’s how it’s gonna be.  So, should I do it anyway?  I think no, but that makes me feel so fail-y.

I got the Biggest Loser Kinect deal in the mail earlier this week so I decided to give it a shot today since it’s an off day for my Couch to 5K.  You start out and it does an assessment.  It determined that I should be exercising with this game at a moderate level.  The assessment exercises were not terribly hard.  They definitely made me breathe harder and such, but I could do them.  So, I went on and decided to do a 30 minute workout.  It starts out tough.  I’m out of breath by the third exercise.  It’s doable, but I’m still having trouble.  I suppose that means it was a good workout.  Then we get to the pushups and I’m yelling at the tv.  No, really.  My throat’s a little sore from it.  Still, I do them as best I can and move on.  A few minutes later we get to something or other with hard landings.  Do I need to make a distinction?  Y’all probably know what I’m talking about.  There’s jogging in place and that skater’s thing where you do side-steps and you land softly on both of those.  But jumping jacks?  Hard landing.  So, there’s something or other with the hard landing and I just do the arm part.  But they annoy you every 5 seconds telling you that you aren’t doing it right.  Next is jumping jacks.  We’ve already had the no-jumping jumping jacks and when I try to do those instead of the real ones it wants, it tells me I’m doing it all wrong.  So I get pissed, act like a little bitch, and quit.  I already had 35 minutes into it (That includes the beginning assessment, which wasn’t part of the 30 minutes I selected).

I should have known better, I suppose.  I’ve tried some of the BL exercise DVDs and had some of the same problems, but even though it pains me (figuratively) to not do the exercises exactly right, I can modify just fine.  But here they’re “watching me.”

Not only that, but in this “game” it shows you as a big blob.  It’s gross.  It’s like you’re body, but with no features and it looks like a giant blob of melty butter that keeps shifting.  Ew.

I’ve had this jumping issue in Kinect Sports, but that program allows you to skip things.  My issue with that one was that it made the exercise program much shorter because you could skip stuff, but couldn’t add stuff in.  In this BL one, you can’t skip.  It’s so frustrating.  That was the workout they program for you.  I might be able to make my own workout and skip that jumping crap, but I’m entirely too annoyed to try it today.

On the plus side, I guess it worked.  My legs and arms are burning and it’s taken 20 minutes for my heart rate to return to normal.

Leave a Reply

Categories

